Sweet-Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
Oh my these were absolutely amazing!! I normally prefer to only write a review if I've followed the recipe exactly but there were toooo good not to tell you about them ;) So my changes: I used 2 cups of cooked mashed sweet potatoes(because I had them on hand). I also added 2 TBSP of Peanut butter, 1 TBSP of honey, 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1/2 tsp cloves & omitted the raisins and nuts b/c the hubs won't eat them. I got about 20 muffins with this recipe(but they came just to the top of the cupcake paper). And I also only cooked them @ 350 for 18 mins. I'm sooo glad I baked this recipe!! The house smells like fall and I will DEF be trying this recipe time and time again b/c there's always leftover sweet taters ;) Thanks Jen!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain Iron, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I didn't have a whole 4 cups of sweet potato, more like 2. However, my muffin cups were very full and they came out awesome. I think 4 cups would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
SO great. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was tasty but I wasn't a fan of the grated sweet potatoes. Next time I make this I will follow the suggestion of other reviews and cook my potatoes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
These really did taste good, but they were waaaaay too dense for my taste. I don't know if it's maybe because of the starchiness of the sweet potatoes? I mixed and baked according to direction, with the exception of using only 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 1 1/8 cup. I do think they turned out how they are supposed to. I think I just like fluffier/cakier muffins. The texture of these was more like a cross between muffin and bread pudding. Very heavy. For a similar flavor profile in a more "muffiny" muffin, I recommend the "Morning Glory Muffins I" from this site. A couple of neutral notes - these took a bit longer to bake in my oven than the recipes states. Also, with a 6oz. ice cream scoop, I got 15 standard-sized muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
As is, this is a pretty tasty muffin. Next batch I plan to cut the oil in 1/2 and use unsweetened applesauce for the other half. These are also really sweet, so I may cut the sugar as well. Yummy muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Blankenship

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mjmartin006
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I love this recipe, it is one of my favorites on here. I have made it several times, the only changes I make is I add 1 Tablespoon of Cinnamon and add 1/2 cup of milk, then bake it about 15 mins longer than the recipe calls for. I didn't have raisins, either so I added more walnuts. They are great for breakfast or a quick snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, 2 sweet potatoes that were boiled and mashed, 2 tablespoons of milled flaxseed, and two tablespoons of melted butter. I also didn't have any allspice, but I did put in a half teaspoon of ground cloves. These are super yummy and filling! I've frozen them to heat up for quick breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These are VERY good, the only thing I did different was made them as mini muffins for my toddler and added copped up apple instead of raisins and walnuts. I think next time I'll use applesauce instead of canola oil to make a bit healthier. My 2 1/2 year old loves these, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I liked these a lot. They weren't too dense, they had a lot of flavor - I thought they were great! I baked the sweet potatoes the night before and then peeled them, mashed them, and threw them in with the wet ingredients. I did have to add a splash of milk because the batter was really thick, but that seemed to help and they puffed up nicely. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States