Sweet-Potato Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These tasted good, but they were more than just dense. They were like custard. I baked them for an additional 15 minutes and still they were custard inside. The next day, I cut them in half and toasted them in the oven for about 8 minutes at 350 and they were much better, but still not cooked through like a muffin would be. The ratios are just all wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya S.
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
These muffins are a nice change from the usual. They are dense, which makes them really filling. I used half the amount of nutmeg (ground not fresh) and replaced the walnuts with pecans. The batter was really sticky so I had to use my hand to mix all the ingredients together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
My second time making sweet potato muffins. This is different from the last recipe I use. The batter turn out too thick so I added some milk. My husband and three kids love them. Great recipe!!!!My five year old child couldn't wait for them to cool down. Will make them again. The next time I will upload a photo. They came out pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keisha Gayden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
It was so delicious that our five year old couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Absolutely terrific! Easy to make - next time I will grate the sweet potatoes finer and add the raisins and nuts I was lacking this time. Thank you, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.There is no moisture in it at all. I had to add 1 c. of milk to make it usable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I loved this recipe! I used 2c of mashed yams 1/2c of brown sugar and 1/4c of buttermilk, they were delicious! I did cut the recipe in half and it made 12 regular muffins! They were so good. Everyone at work loved them! Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
just made these. came out delicious. i used applesauce instead of the oil. (i added a teaspoon of oil, too.). i cooked the sweet potatoes first. then mashed them into the wet ingredients. also, i used a little bit less than 1 cup of brown sugar. it came out sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I found this recipe when I was searching for a way to use up a surplus of sweet potatoes. I thought it sounded unusual and wasn't sure what to think, but my 2-year-old loves muffins, and I thought this would be a great way to sneak in some veggies. They were absolutely delicious, and so beautiful! I love sweets but actually think you could decrease the sugar in these a bit and still have a great flavor. So excited to have found this recipe. It will become a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Before adding the shredded sweet potato, I squeezed some liquid out of it. The first time I didn't and the muffins took extra long to cook. They are delicious and I love how moist they are. I also didn't add the walnuts...added semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States