Sweet Potato Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
A good soup. Minestrone is not my favorite, but this is a neat take on it. Sweet potatoes take over the role of starch in this soup, instead of noodles and/or beans. Definitely use fresh green beans. They are a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
it seemed like there was something missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I was surprisingly impressed. Great recipe. I changed a couple things. Added one can of rinsed and then puréed cannelloni beans. Extra crushed garlic and chopped onions. Browned up a few sausage slices so my husband would eat it. He ended up having two bowls. And I put all the ingredients in my crockpot and cooked it all day in there. I sprinkled the servings with a little parmesan cheese. It was great. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Picky husband loved it... enough that he even took some to his parents (high praise that he thinks they would eat it!). Could have used a few more minutes for the carrots and green beans. I added cooked elbow noodles the last 2 or 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eastoffel
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very easy and super yummy! I was surprised at how rich the broth was. I added quinoa to boost the protein content. My kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Trying to make this Paleo. Using cocunut oil and organic veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Good starter recipe. Just throwing a few more things in makes it excellent. Used olive oil to sauté the onions, celery, garlic and some fennel. Added about a tbsp of basil, and some oregano, parsley, thyme and marjoram. Also added about a tbsp of crushed red pepper. Once the tomatoes and broth boil I added the sweet potatoes and carrots. After that bubbled for a while I added some cannelllini beans, frozen peas and Lima beans and finally a handful of ditalini pasta. Really good. Better the next day and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was SO good with the following alterations. Instead of olive oil I used garlic infused olive oil. Instead of veg broth I used 3.5 C Veg broth & 1.5 C chicken broth. I did the green beans in ½ inch sizes and instead of garlic cloves I used minced garlic where ½ tsp. = 1 clove. And I did heaping tsps. full. For the sweet potatoes I did one orange/yam type and one white. But it was SO good we are going to do it again. Though will dice the potatoes smaller next time, so they cook faster because it took about 20 min longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I actually hate sweet potatoes due to childhood trauma (think day care and canned sweet potatoes), however, I wanted to see if there was a way I could like them. This was it! As usual I doubled the garlic. I also accidentally doubled the Italian seasoning but it worked. I used low sodium veggie stock because the wife is trying to cut down on salt. This was easy to make and paired nicely with my other vegan courses (Quinoa Black Beans and Balsamic Strawberries). It definitely needs to cook a bit longer even with small sweet potato cubes (I slice them and use a "chop magic" to do this efficiently and evenly). Both of us sweet potato eaters ate the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States