Sweet Potato Minestrone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I actually hate sweet potatoes due to childhood trauma (think day care and canned sweet potatoes), however, I wanted to see if there was a way I could like them. This was it! As usual I doubled the garlic. I also accidentally doubled the Italian seasoning but it worked. I used low sodium veggie stock because the wife is trying to cut down on salt. This was easy to make and paired nicely with my other vegan courses (Quinoa Black Beans and Balsamic Strawberries). It definitely needs to cook a bit longer even with small sweet potato cubes (I slice them and use a "chop magic" to do this efficiently and evenly). Both of us sweet potato eaters ate the whole bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Oliver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Wanted a veg. soup recipe that would help me use up a sweet potato. As others said, I was skeptical just reviewing the ingredient list that it would be something crazy delicious - but it really was. Very good. Exactly what I was looking for and could easily be changed based on what you have on hand and would still be just as good, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Love this recipe! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Marys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made a double batch of this soup for a fall-themed baby shower, and it was loved by ALL! I was asked to email everyone the recipe! I added some seashell pasta, but other than that, didn't change a thing, and it was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitmore Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Agreed that white beans or lentils would've made this a full entree with protein. Used homemade veggie broth for a delicious no preservative, gluten free vegan meal. Also subbed peas for green beans for the kids. Will make this a lot! Served with a side of homemade gluten free bread brushcetta. Perfect! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Delicious! Perfect meatless option to have during Lent and full of veggies. My family doesn't really like sweet potatoes but they are so good for us. This is one of the few recipes I can make with sweet potatoes that everyone will actually eat. My mom, who loves sweet potatoes, gobbles this recipe up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I added fresh herbs. The potato was the best. Use real sweet potato, not yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Wow, what a soup and so simple!! OK, I used yams and added 1# of cooked ground turkey. It is totally colorful for Halloween and Fall. I especially love the five garlic cloves!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My family loved this recipe, from the 3 year old up to the 26 year old, and including my husband. One son only took a small amount to start because he thought sweet potato soup sounded weird, but he soon came back for a big bowl and said it was great soup! He also commented that it was sweet. I could have eaten the broth alone, it was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly (I did add the minced garlic at the beginning with the onion) until the end when I added a can of garbanzo beans (all I had) and some pasta like others suggested. With or without the additions my family would have enjoyed it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
For a vegetable soup, this is pretty good. I added some white beans to bulk it up a bit. This recipe makes a ton - easily 7+ servings for us - so I'll be eating it all week, but I don't think I'll make it again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States