Sweet Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
These were tasty, easy, and cheap, which are my three requirements these days (I live in nowheresville Peru on a peace corps volunteer salary). I love that it snuck some protein in with the eggs, and I actually got a meal of GOOD carbs, instead of white bread, white rice, or pasta. I didn´t have cloves, so I left that out, and I made Pineapple sauce to serve with it. An excellent recipe that I will use a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Really unique taste. I don't care for sweet potatoes, but these don't taste like sweet potatoes. Good recipe for diabetics, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Nice addition for Thanksgiving dinner. Serve as appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NaNa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
This is a terrific recipe for Hanukkah. My whole family loves it and it is now a tradition for me to make this every year. The recipe is no more difficult to make than regular potato latkes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Consider using 1/2 tsp clove. I wish the amount of sweet potato was specified by cup, since they vary so widely in size. Try substituting a little white potato for sweet potato, for variety in texture and appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great recipe! I, too, tweeked it some - we like spicy at my house, so I added about 3/4 teaspoon (adjust to your liking)of cayenne pepper and about 1/2 teaspoon ginger. Delish! I let them really crisp up and they were great. I also served them with sour cream which is nice with the extra kick of spicyness. I will definitly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckeyegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
My family and I liked this recipe. It was a little sweetness. Great with honey mustard chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Went over very well. I added a little more flour and cinnamon along with some nutmeg and skipped on the cloves. Only bad part is they don't hold very well over time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Best latkes we've ever had! (I made a few changes) Add 1 green apple for every 2 sweet potatoes, rinsed & grated (this is all the sugar you need...don't add brown sugar) Don't add eggs - this makes the latkes heavy, just use about 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour... enough flour to make ingredients "stick" together and form cakes. Salt and Pepper are the best spices for latkes... hold out on the cloves/cinnemon. Use Peanut and/or Vegetable oil for frying. The green apples compliment to the sweet potatoes and help with the texture. No need for apple sauce, just sour cream with these yummy latkes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
These were tasty, but I figured 2 teaspoons of clove would be WAY too much, so I used only 1/2 teaspoon and they were perfect. They are better when made small, maybe 2" in diameter. They fried up nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States