Sweet Potato (Kumara) Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
wow, I have to say, these were the worst things that has come out of my kitchen in a while. not sure exactly what went wrong, but they didn't brown and they tasted very bland; all around super disappointing. I won't give it just one star because I'm sure part of the failure was my fault. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
The spices were really good, but yeah way too much flour in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by florence.emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I was a little disappointed in these as written. They didn't really crisp or brown like I was hoping they would, and the flour mixture kind of just clumped on them in an unappetizing way. They weren't at all horrible - we ate them gladly, but I wouldn't bother making them this way again. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Wonderful! Needed to be turned halfway through. Excellent for someone on a budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Great alternative side dish! Lots of flavor and balanced sweetness. I usually don't like sweet potatoes because the preparations are always too sweet for dinner time. I scaled back on the flour (1T), added a 1/4t chili powder, and a heavy pinch of kosher salt. I also tossed the potatoes on the sheet after the first 10 min of cook time to give them a little roll in the oil. Serving these with a dollop of plain greek yogurt is a great alternative to sour cream. Big hit at my table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Very nice flavor. I like the mustard powder. I halved the recipe but kept the same amount of spices except the flour--I used about 1 or 2 tablespoons of flour and added some crushed red pepper. Worked very well. I baked them for about 1 hour and flipped the sweet potatoes at 30 minutes. Still, I made big wedges so if the recipe meant small wedges they would've been done sooner. Bf and I ate these plain; no dipping sauces or sour cream needed and we enjoyed them very much. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
After reading reviews, I made this recipe as directed, but dotted with butter. The flour came out brown and crispy. I would make this again. But don't forget to dot the butter. Otherwise the flour doesn't brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AtlantaPeaches

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Loved these!! I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and forgot to add the flour but it turned out fine in my opinion. Served with a bit of sour cream on the side, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I used 2 sweet potatoes and 3 turnips. It worked well but decided I'm not a fan of turnips. I liked the sweet potatoes. The amount of flour was perfect for this amount of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Didn't want the oven temp that high as I was reheating some BBQ Pork so I parboiled the sweet potato for about 15 minutes, sliced it, sprinkled with the mustard, paprika, pepper and salt, drizzled with olive oil and baked for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees. The slices weren't crispy without the flour, but even so it was a tasty side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States