Sweet Potato (Kumara) Wedges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
These are great! I cook them all the time, but be careful not to overcoat (a light dusting will do) otherwise the flour doesn't cook and you get dusty potato wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Thomas, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Delicious! We followed the recipe exactly, and didn't feel they needed any sauce for dipping. Even the child that doesn't like sweet potatoes loved this one. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Very good! I can't stop eating them. These will be a great appetizer for my next get together. I did follow the advice of one other reviewer and spray (coat)with (olive) oil prior to shaking in a bag and they came out perfectly coated. I had to cook mine for closer to an hour for the thicker pieces, so be sure to check for doneness. Also, I tried dipping in dijon mustard, YUM! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
made as written. i added some old bay to the leftover flour i used to coat some fish for dinner also. served the wedges with garlic aloili and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Skipped the flour, went with chili powder instead of mustard. Ended up with a simple savory potato, very tender. It didn't overpower anything else on the plate and let the strong flavors from the other items stand out. I'll try it with the mustard next time instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was not to my liking when the sweet potato's came out they tasted like the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I should have followed the reviews and decreased the amount of flour. DRASTICALLY. Ugh. I used a little cumin, a little curry powder, a little chili powder and some salt. The spices were nice with the potatoes but there was definitely too much flour. I'll try again with little (or even no) flour, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Tip for crisp potatoes without turning - I put the potatoes on a cooling rack on my baking sheet when cooking to allow it to crisp up on all sides. The recipe ingredients were perfect, the only thing that needed changing was the method of preparation. I lightly tossed the potatoes with oil then added to ziploc of spices. After tossing I put on a cooling rack placed in a jellyroll pan lined with foil. I didn't have any trouble with too much flour as other reviewers did -- probably because I tossed with oil first. Next time I might try adding some melted butter when tossing with the oil for a yummier, though unhealthier version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natural & Good4U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
only used @ 1T of flour, and used garlic powder instead of mustard powder. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Not bad but next time I will toss them in olive or vegetable oil after putting them in the flour mixture with less flour as suggested in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States