Sweet Potato French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This recipe is pretty good. I microwaved the sweet potato for 8 min. and then mashed it. The first batch was a little bland so I added 1/2 tsp. Pumpkin Pie Spice and 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract. My 3 yr old grandson loved them. I will make these again. 10/30/09 Forgot about this recipe until my 3 yr old grandson asked me to make it for breakfast today. I am now giving it 5 stars, I added more vanilla extract, about 3/4-1 tsp. and extra pumpkin spice. Used a small sweet potato and added the whole amount, about 1/2c, Delicious. 3-29-10 Today I used 1 cup of sweet potato, 2 eggs, 3 egg whites, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I mixed all the ingreds.(not the bread of course) with my electric mixer on low, just until blended. Came out much smoother. Made with whole wheat bread. Got 7 french toast which I cooled, put between waxed paper, then in a baggie and put in the freezer. I zap 2 pieces in the microwave, covered for about 2 minutes when we want some. Easy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Just made these this morning, wife's appetite not too good this morning..but I made her try a bite...5 minutes later she was in the kitchen fixing a plate. Need I say more? The microwaving suggestion makes this recipe easier and quicker...and i probably will also play with the spices some. Thank you Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I made this tasty breakfast treat for my husband, who doesn't usually like sweet potatoes, and he loved it! We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Tastes great, though I'm sure there's not much added nutritional benefit, nor is there much change in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
kids and I LOVED this french toast! I did omit one egg and added two tablespoons of milk and a splash of vanilla......EXCELLENT! thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
simple and delicious! I keep pureed sweet potatoes on hand pretty often to sneak it into many things for my picky toddler... this is another great way to use sweet potato! I added more cinnamon and some vanilla, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPECIALCAY06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ebonello
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Fast & Delicious ! ! ! Great recipe. Just as easy to make as it sounds. . . .Very Low calories too !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was delicious! I sprinkled a bit of cinnamon on top when I served it and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook Kristy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This recipe is so nutritious, quick, and easy that I've been making it for my 1 year old eveyday for the past week! My only changes are that I use more sweet potato to make it healthier, add a dash of vanilla extract, and use whole wheat bread. It takes two seconds to whip up and mommy gets to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEDGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Crazy...Nah! My kids love them. I can't believe I never thought about adding them to my French Toast. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States