Sweet Potato French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I've been making this recipe for a long time, it's in the Sneaky Chef cookbook. All three kids eat it without complaint, and it does taste good. The picky hubby however doesn't like it simply because you can see an orange color. I only use cinnamon and vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Just made these this morning, wife's appetite not too good this morning..but I made her try a bite...5 minutes later she was in the kitchen fixing a plate. Need I say more? The microwaving suggestion makes this recipe easier and quicker...and i probably will also play with the spices some. Thank you Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I used chopped rather than mashed sweet potato, which obviously isn't ideal, but it worked, forming a kind of crusty coating with the egg. My family liked it and we are following another reviewer's suggestion of freezing them to take out and toast on busy mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is a fun way to sneak some veggies into your family's diet! You can't even taste the sweet potato. These are good. I did add 1/2 tsp of vanilla and increased the cinnamon to 1/4 tsp. As a side note, sweet potato puree is easy to prepare in advance and freeze. Just broil a bunch of them and then puree in a food processor and package in 1/4 cup increments in a ziptop freezer bag. To thaw just place in a bowl of warm water for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This recipe is pretty good. I microwaved the sweet potato for 8 min. and then mashed it. The first batch was a little bland so I added 1/2 tsp. Pumpkin Pie Spice and 1/4 tsp. vanilla extract. My 3 yr old grandson loved them. I will make these again. 10/30/09 Forgot about this recipe until my 3 yr old grandson asked me to make it for breakfast today. I am now giving it 5 stars, I added more vanilla extract, about 3/4-1 tsp. and extra pumpkin spice. Used a small sweet potato and added the whole amount, about 1/2c, Delicious. 3-29-10 Today I used 1 cup of sweet potato, 2 eggs, 3 egg whites, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp pumpkin spice, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I mixed all the ingreds.(not the bread of course) with my electric mixer on low, just until blended. Came out much smoother. Made with whole wheat bread. Got 7 french toast which I cooled, put between waxed paper, then in a baggie and put in the freezer. I zap 2 pieces in the microwave, covered for about 2 minutes when we want some. Easy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Crazy...Nah! My kids love them. I can't believe I never thought about adding them to my French Toast. Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dpierro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I'm reviewing this because I actually made it! Crazy, huh? ;) I did add a tsp. of vanilla. Next time, I might up the spices just a bit, maybe use pumpkin pie spice? I served it with Absolute Best Pancake Syrup and the kids ate two pieces each. I froze the rest in two's so I can just pop it in the toaster on busy mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Haven't tried this yet, but it might also work with canned pumpkin? Pumkin french toast sounds good too. Thanks for this thinking outside the box recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States