Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe was very good, my family loved it. It does make a lot though, so have some extra tortillas on hand to make more. We wound up dipping Blue Corn Chips into the leftover filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is soooooo good. I used flour tortilla warmed in micro instead of corn. But great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieCC
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These sounded very strange at first, but they turned out very good - I did add cooked chicken breast, though! I did not fry my tortillas (too much fat). I also did not make enchilada "rolls". I just layered the items in a 10X14 pan. I doubled the spices to our satisfaction. I topped it with paprika, parsely, diced red pepper, & sliced black olives. This one is a keeper! I needed to use up some "going old" sweet potatoes and this was just the thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great! I used flour tortillas because I hate corn tortillas. Next time I'll omit the enchilada sauce and either use green sauce or just extra cheese. I also might toast them in a frying pan rather than bake them, and then melt cheese on top so that they'll be crispy. The filling is truly fantastic, though. I tripled the amount of spice the recipe called for and it was anything but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This recipe is delicious! Changes I made: * Added about 5 cooked/shredded chicken breasts, additional green onion and chopped cilantro. * Used a green enchilada sauce in place of the red sauce. * Tripled (or more) the seasonings * Used a hand-mixer to blend well before filling the tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Whole family loved this! Didn't miss the meat at all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Made these for my vegetarian brother & we all loved them. I baked the sweet potatos (peelings on) in the microwave in just a few minutes to save a lot of time and aggravation over boiling for 30 min. as recipe directs. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was really good. I baked the sweet potatoes instead of boiling them and doubled the spices. I had a lot of mix left over...will probably use 4 sweet potatoes next time. We topped it w/ sour cream and salsa after it was plated. The combination of the ingredients sounds weird but it's really good. This would make a good meal to take to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Absolutely Fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly with two small exceptions (listed below). Since I did use vey large sweet potatoes I tripled the chili powder, ground cumin and oregano. I also used 1 8-oz jar Ortega Mild Enchilada sauce and found it to be enough for our family. The recipe made enough for 1-2 more meals. Edited addition - I now make this recipe with the Red Enchilada Sauce recipe from this site but use 6 oz tomato paste i/o tomato sauce so it's not too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was awesome! I did it exactly as it says and it was perfect. It does make a whole lot which is great! I've made it several times and it is a keeper in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States