Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This recipe was delicious! I did make a few adjustments. Instead of green onions, I caramelized a sweet yellow onion; this went great with the sweet potato! Also, I did not fry the tortillas. I heated them up in the microwave in my tortilla warmer for about 45 seconds. Finally, I do not care for red enchilada sauce so I created my own sauce. I mixed green chili sauce with a mashed avocado, 1/2 a cup of sour cream and half a cup of cilantro (blended w/food processor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe sounded weird, but I had sweeet potatoes that needed using, and a taste for Mexican food! It was great! But it made too much. I used flour tortillas because that is what I had on hand, and reduced fat cream cheese. I ended up with 6 large enchiladas and a lot of left over filling. Next time I will cut the recipe in half. I served it with a garbanzo bean salad I threw together with diced red onion, quartered cherry tomatoes, salt, pepper, red wine vinegar and oil, and some fresh parsley. My picky roommate loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I reduced the recipe (cooking for 3 instead of 6) but kept the full measurement of spices, and I'm glad I did because otherwise I think it would have bland. So...3 sweet potatoes filled 12 small tortillas. The texture reminded me of a tamale. I will make this again, but I think I might actually throw in some cinnamon to the filling - I always sprinkle on my sweet potatoes and it just seemed to be missing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieCC
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These sounded very strange at first, but they turned out very good - I did add cooked chicken breast, though! I did not fry my tortillas (too much fat). I also did not make enchilada "rolls". I just layered the items in a 10X14 pan. I doubled the spices to our satisfaction. I topped it with paprika, parsely, diced red pepper, & sliced black olives. This one is a keeper! I needed to use up some "going old" sweet potatoes and this was just the thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great! I used flour tortillas because I hate corn tortillas. Next time I'll omit the enchilada sauce and either use green sauce or just extra cheese. I also might toast them in a frying pan rather than bake them, and then melt cheese on top so that they'll be crispy. The filling is truly fantastic, though. I tripled the amount of spice the recipe called for and it was anything but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I did make a few itty bitty changes.... to start with I only used 4 sweet potatoes (I only had that many), I doubled the seasonings and used 6 green onions (green & white parts). I did NOT fry my tortillas! In my opinion corn tortillas need to be lightly toasted to bring out their full flavor potential, however doing so makes them crispy and next to impossible to roll... Solution? Dip them in the enchilada sauce= instant rollability. :) So just use a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat and let them get slightly golden (takes like 5 seconds). Dip and ready for rolling. I used hot enchilada sauce which was delicious!!! These are on our menu often from now on. I should have mentioned above... these made more than 12 enchiladas, I got 24 out of the amount of filling with 4 sweet potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe was very good, my family loved it. It does make a lot though, so have some extra tortillas on hand to make more. We wound up dipping Blue Corn Chips into the leftover filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe was just awesome!! I did make two changes just to make a few steps easier. I peeled & cut up the potatoes before I boiled them. Totally cut down on the cooking time. I also put the corn tortillas on a baking sheet & put them in the oven for two minutes. Made them easy to roll & there was no grease involved. My husband said it was the best thing he ever ate! I make this on a weekly bases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My boyfriend declared, "This is my new favorite dinner you make" So I want you know thats HUGE stuff! I only made a couple of changes here... I used green sauce instead of red sauce, used only 4 sweet potatoes, since mine were HUGE, and left out the green onions cause (SAD FACE) my boyfriend hates onions (sigh)... I wish I had left them in there... Anyways, it was SO GOOD... We had some left over filling but spread it on tortillas and ate it the next day....AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This recipe is delicious! Changes I made: * Added about 5 cooked/shredded chicken breasts, additional green onion and chopped cilantro. * Used a green enchilada sauce in place of the red sauce. * Tripled (or more) the seasonings * Used a hand-mixer to blend well before filling the tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States