Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe sounded weird, but I had sweeet potatoes that needed using, and a taste for Mexican food! It was great! But it made too much. I used flour tortillas because that is what I had on hand, and reduced fat cream cheese. I ended up with 6 large enchiladas and a lot of left over filling. Next time I will cut the recipe in half. I served it with a garbanzo bean salad I threw together with diced red onion, quartered cherry tomatoes, salt, pepper, red wine vinegar and oil, and some fresh parsley. My picky roommate loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe was very good, my family loved it. It does make a lot though, so have some extra tortillas on hand to make more. We wound up dipping Blue Corn Chips into the leftover filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is soooooo good. I used flour tortilla warmed in micro instead of corn. But great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I reduced the recipe (cooking for 3 instead of 6) but kept the full measurement of spices, and I'm glad I did because otherwise I think it would have bland. So...3 sweet potatoes filled 12 small tortillas. The texture reminded me of a tamale. I will make this again, but I think I might actually throw in some cinnamon to the filling - I always sprinkle on my sweet potatoes and it just seemed to be missing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I really loved the filling in these. In fact this recipe made so much extra filling that I was using it in everything for two to three days after I made the enchiladas. The only complaint I had at all was that I think the enchilada sauce covered the taste of the filling a bit. I may try green sauce next time and see how that turns out. I also bumped up the spices quite a bit. I made them for my family and they all enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by JulieCC
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These sounded very strange at first, but they turned out very good - I did add cooked chicken breast, though! I did not fry my tortillas (too much fat). I also did not make enchilada "rolls". I just layered the items in a 10X14 pan. I doubled the spices to our satisfaction. I topped it with paprika, parsely, diced red pepper, & sliced black olives. This one is a keeper! I needed to use up some "going old" sweet potatoes and this was just the thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great! I used flour tortillas because I hate corn tortillas. Next time I'll omit the enchilada sauce and either use green sauce or just extra cheese. I also might toast them in a frying pan rather than bake them, and then melt cheese on top so that they'll be crispy. The filling is truly fantastic, though. I tripled the amount of spice the recipe called for and it was anything but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I was really excited to make this recipe, but I was truly disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly, and it just wasn't very tasty. I'd like to give it a higher rating, but I actually threw out the leftovers, which is unheard of in my house. I think the sweet potato mixture might be okay on its own, but with the enchilada sauce it just tasted funky. I doubt I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
When I told my husband what we were having for dinner he looked at me like I was crazy. He then proceeded to eat every bite and tried to go back for seconds but it was all gone. Great recipe and something different. Like others I doubled the spice and added a shredded chicken breast. I also substitued salsa for the enchilada sauce. Will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Might be good to get the ammount of potato in weight. Sweets come in all sizes & I think it's why some people had sooo much or thought it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States