Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe sounded weird, but I had sweeet potatoes that needed using, and a taste for Mexican food! It was great! But it made too much. I used flour tortillas because that is what I had on hand, and reduced fat cream cheese. I ended up with 6 large enchiladas and a lot of left over filling. Next time I will cut the recipe in half. I served it with a garbanzo bean salad I threw together with diced red onion, quartered cherry tomatoes, salt, pepper, red wine vinegar and oil, and some fresh parsley. My picky roommate loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe was very good, my family loved it. It does make a lot though, so have some extra tortillas on hand to make more. We wound up dipping Blue Corn Chips into the leftover filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is soooooo good. I used flour tortilla warmed in micro instead of corn. But great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I reduced the recipe (cooking for 3 instead of 6) but kept the full measurement of spices, and I'm glad I did because otherwise I think it would have bland. So...3 sweet potatoes filled 12 small tortillas. The texture reminded me of a tamale. I will make this again, but I think I might actually throw in some cinnamon to the filling - I always sprinkle on my sweet potatoes and it just seemed to be missing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I really loved the filling in these. In fact this recipe made so much extra filling that I was using it in everything for two to three days after I made the enchiladas. The only complaint I had at all was that I think the enchilada sauce covered the taste of the filling a bit. I may try green sauce next time and see how that turns out. I also bumped up the spices quite a bit. I made them for my family and they all enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forestville, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by JulieCC
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These sounded very strange at first, but they turned out very good - I did add cooked chicken breast, though! I did not fry my tortillas (too much fat). I also did not make enchilada "rolls". I just layered the items in a 10X14 pan. I doubled the spices to our satisfaction. I topped it with paprika, parsely, diced red pepper, & sliced black olives. This one is a keeper! I needed to use up some "going old" sweet potatoes and this was just the thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great! I used flour tortillas because I hate corn tortillas. Next time I'll omit the enchilada sauce and either use green sauce or just extra cheese. I also might toast them in a frying pan rather than bake them, and then melt cheese on top so that they'll be crispy. The filling is truly fantastic, though. I tripled the amount of spice the recipe called for and it was anything but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I was really excited to make this recipe, but I was truly disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly, and it just wasn't very tasty. I'd like to give it a higher rating, but I actually threw out the leftovers, which is unheard of in my house. I think the sweet potato mixture might be okay on its own, but with the enchilada sauce it just tasted funky. I doubt I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethsanchez23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
When I told my husband what we were having for dinner he looked at me like I was crazy. He then proceeded to eat every bite and tried to go back for seconds but it was all gone. Great recipe and something different. Like others I doubled the spice and added a shredded chicken breast. I also substitued salsa for the enchilada sauce. Will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Might be good to get the ammount of potato in weight. Sweets come in all sizes & I think it's why some people had sooo much or thought it bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States