Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was amazing and will be added to the recipe rotation. I served it to my best friend the first night and my boyfriend the next night as leftovers, and both loved it. I made a few minor changes; I used whole wheat tortillas instead of corn and did not fry them. This saved a lot of time and I will definitely do the same next time I make this. Also, the enchilada sauce I bought was only 14 oz, so I made up the difference with 1/2 a 10 oz can of minced tomatoes with green chilies. I also added a skinned, seeded chopped tomato to the sauce and would have added more but I ran out of time. I liked the fresh tomato in the sauce and will add more next time; maybe 4-5, canned would be easier but would probably add too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This recipe was a hit! We liked it as is but next time I will double up the spices and add cayenne pepper. Great way to get veggies in and 2 of my 3 boys loved it (always one). This is going to become a "repeater" which does not happen often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is a good recipe idea. Mine turned out tasty but I think next time I may up the spices a bit, especially the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My boyfriend declared, "This is my new favorite dinner you make" So I want you know thats HUGE stuff! I only made a couple of changes here... I used green sauce instead of red sauce, used only 4 sweet potatoes, since mine were HUGE, and left out the green onions cause (SAD FACE) my boyfriend hates onions (sigh)... I wish I had left them in there... Anyways, it was SO GOOD... We had some left over filling but spread it on tortillas and ate it the next day....AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Awesome stuff right here. I switched up a few things from the original like using yams instead of sweet potatoes because they have more nutritional value, tripling the spices, caramelizing a yellow onion instead of green with about 3 cloves of garlic before putting it into the mix. I just put the corn tortillas in the preheated oven for about 2 minutes to get them flexible enough to roll. I topped both kinds – I made red and green – with olives and bell peppers. I also added a chopped up jalapeno to the middle stuff. I think next time I'll add sausage if none of my veg friends are over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I am always looking for meatless recipes and this is a simply Great! A good find and real keeper. I brought them for lunch at work to share with a friend and she couldn't stop raving about them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I also only used 3 large sweet potatos but kept the spices and cream cheese the same. I also added corn and black beans. I used the flour tortillas because that is all I had on hand and just warmed them in the microwave before filling. These are so good! My sixth grader had friends over and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scaredith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Used sauteed sweet yellow onions in lieu of green onions. Also used additional shredded cheese in each enchilada. Fabulous vegetarian & gluten-free recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were ok and I enjoyed eating one, but I have 2 more in the fridge that I never feel like eating and am probably going to toss. It's that type of recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ange82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
10 stars!! YUM!! I had this dish at a vegetarian restaurant years ago, only they used pumpkin instead of potato. Anyway, I DOUBLED the chili, cumin and oregano and sauteed this mixture one minute in a bit of oil to bring out the flavor. We fried the tortillas, but next time I will try without. DEEEElish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 81-90 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States