Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Ok, so like many of you, I was skeptical. Sweet Potato enchiladas? that sounds gross! But at the recommendation of a friend, I tried them anyways and I am so glad that I did! These were wonderful!!!! The only thing that I did differently was that I served them with a homemade salsa verde enchilada sauce (I'm not a big fan of red). These paired great with Mexican rice. Even my picky boyfriend loved them! Thanks!! We will definitely be having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laryanita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This recipe takes a lot of time to make, but it is SO WORTH IT! We have made this a few times when we have company, and it has always been a hit. This recipe makes about three dishes at a time, but that's never a problem. The enchiladas re-heat wonderfully in our toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it was freaking amazing! The canned enchilada sauce I used (Rosirita's I believe) was not that great. Next time I think I will make my own sauce and it will be perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
So very tasty. I added two diced zucchini and one sauteed yellow onion to the sweet potato mixture. Also used half a block of neufchatel and mixed it into sweet potatoes with a hand mixer. I used a can and a half of Hatch roasted green chili enchilada sauce and topped with sliced olives. Very tasty. Corn tortillas add a lot of great flavor so I recommend them over flour by far. Also no need to fry tortillas before filling, microwave for a few seconds, then dip them in sauce to soften. Makes one very heavy 9x13 dish, great for sharing or for giving to a neighbor. Worth the effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I think it would be better if you cubed the sweet potatoes rather than mashing, just to give it a little texture. I'd like to try it with green enchilada sauce per other reviewers next time. Overall it was a good and different way to prepare sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was super delicious and my vegetarian friends loved it. I made the mistake of forgetting to put cream cheese in... but it still turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lucky
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very tasty dish. I was skeptical of using sweet potato as a filler for enchiladas, but it came out pretty good. I did add extra spices and onions from which it called for. This recipe is a keeper because of the flavors and the use of the sweet potato. The only thing I will definitely change for the next time is that I will leave the sweet potato mixture a bit chunky. I did not care for the "mushiness" of the pureed filling. Perhaps add corn kernels of black beans?? I also will most definitely use a homemade enchilada sauce. The canned stuff does not do this recipe justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is probably my second favorite on this site that I have made. Followed exactly as the recipe stated and they were awesome. Even my 9 and 14 year old children loved them. The only thing I will say is that if you have larger sweet potatoes you will get a lot more than what the recipe states. With 5 large sweet potatoes I made 2 13x9 pans of enchiladas which was enough for 2 meals for my family! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I would have never thought this would be good. It was wonderful. On a nfns diet and this will be added to our menu. It does make a lot of extra I cut it down for a serving for 4. I would use this recipe for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Thought it sounded like an interesting recipe, but I wasn't sure how it would turn out. It was great and I will definitely make it again. We were snowed in, so I had to use what was in the house. Substituted 1/2 onion (chopped) for the green onion, taco sauce for enchilada sauce and pita bread for tortillas. By stuffing the pitas (which I had still crisped up in a saute pan first) with the potato stuffing, it added a nice bulk and made them very easy to handle. Using McCormick Mexican Seasoning is a nice short cut for the seasoning too. It was a delicious, if non-traditional, snowy night meal :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States