Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Good...odd, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agr790

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adamsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dresden, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I added garlic powder, a can of black beans, chopped green chilies, and whole kernel corn. My daughter wasn't sure of the texture, but it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
These are phenomenal! I followed the recipe except to use fat-free cream cheese and used the suggestion of another reviewer to not fry the tortillas but toast them instead and then dip them in the enchilada sauce before filling and rolling them. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
This recipe was just awesome!! I did make two changes just to make a few steps easier. I peeled & cut up the potatoes before I boiled them. Totally cut down on the cooking time. I also put the corn tortillas on a baking sheet & put them in the oven for two minutes. Made them easy to roll & there was no grease involved. My husband said it was the best thing he ever ate! I make this on a weekly bases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I love this recipe! I use whole wheat tortillas which eliminates cuts down on time and clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Wow. Excellent! This is definitely going into my regular recipe rotation. Followed it to the letter, except I omitted the cumin (not a cumin fan at all). I also only used four sweet potatoes weighing in at 2.64 on the cashier's scale at Wal-Mart (more like 2.75 when I weighed it myself). That equals out to just enough filling for 12 enchiladas, assuming you're measuring out each with a 1/3 measuring cup. I'm always looking for really good meatless recipes and I've found another. Thanks!! Tasted a couple spoonfuls of the mixture beforehand - had to consciously keep myself out of it. Yummy. I knew it'd be good before i even tried them. I also followed MesaMa's suggestion of dipping the corn tortillas in the enchilada sauce for easy rollability. GREAT tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Onalaska, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These are delicious!! I was leary at first but as soon as I tasted the first bite, I knew these were going to be my favorite enchiladas!! Adding chicken is good too, Either way, they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I did make a few itty bitty changes.... to start with I only used 4 sweet potatoes (I only had that many), I doubled the seasonings and used 6 green onions (green & white parts). I did NOT fry my tortillas! In my opinion corn tortillas need to be lightly toasted to bring out their full flavor potential, however doing so makes them crispy and next to impossible to roll... Solution? Dip them in the enchilada sauce= instant rollability. :) So just use a nonstick skillet over medium-high heat and let them get slightly golden (takes like 5 seconds). Dip and ready for rolling. I used hot enchilada sauce which was delicious!!! These are on our menu often from now on. I should have mentioned above... these made more than 12 enchiladas, I got 24 out of the amount of filling with 4 sweet potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
These are so good but I must confess I'm a huge fan of savory sweet potato dishes. Don't be afraid to try this recipe if you're so-so on sweet potatoes.; chances are, you'll be impressed with the flavor and won't notice exactly what the ingredient is in them. I didn't alter ingredients, other than using green enchilada sauce, but did halve the recipe (made seven enchiladas). I plan on fixing this for my son when I have him over for dinner some evening- he said the recipe sounded good (and this from someone that is not fond of sweet potatoes). The enchiladas have a nice dense, flavorful texture- a little like your basic bean burrito- the cream cheese and spices really set this apart. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Such a rich and tasty dish! Instead of boiling the sweet potatoes I tossed them in olive oil and roasted them in the oven at 400 degrees for a half hour. I used half the cream cheese and added 1 can of black beans and a little bit of red onion instead of green onions, and used cinnamon instead of oregano. I also used mole instead of enchilada sauce. So I made a bunch of changes but the end result was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States