Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JulieCC
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These sounded very strange at first, but they turned out very good - I did add cooked chicken breast, though! I did not fry my tortillas (too much fat). I also did not make enchilada "rolls". I just layered the items in a 10X14 pan. I doubled the spices to our satisfaction. I topped it with paprika, parsely, diced red pepper, & sliced black olives. This one is a keeper! I needed to use up some "going old" sweet potatoes and this was just the thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe was very good, my family loved it. It does make a lot though, so have some extra tortillas on hand to make more. We wound up dipping Blue Corn Chips into the leftover filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Whole family loved this! Didn't miss the meat at all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great! I used flour tortillas because I hate corn tortillas. Next time I'll omit the enchilada sauce and either use green sauce or just extra cheese. I also might toast them in a frying pan rather than bake them, and then melt cheese on top so that they'll be crispy. The filling is truly fantastic, though. I tripled the amount of spice the recipe called for and it was anything but bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is soooooo good. I used flour tortilla warmed in micro instead of corn. But great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This recipe is delicious! Changes I made: * Added about 5 cooked/shredded chicken breasts, additional green onion and chopped cilantro. * Used a green enchilada sauce in place of the red sauce. * Tripled (or more) the seasonings * Used a hand-mixer to blend well before filling the tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Made these for my vegetarian brother & we all loved them. I baked the sweet potatos (peelings on) in the microwave in just a few minutes to save a lot of time and aggravation over boiling for 30 min. as recipe directs. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was really good. I baked the sweet potatoes instead of boiling them and doubled the spices. I had a lot of mix left over...will probably use 4 sweet potatoes next time. We topped it w/ sour cream and salsa after it was plated. The combination of the ingredients sounds weird but it's really good. This would make a good meal to take to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Absolutely Fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly with two small exceptions (listed below). Since I did use vey large sweet potatoes I tripled the chili powder, ground cumin and oregano. I also used 1 8-oz jar Ortega Mild Enchilada sauce and found it to be enough for our family. The recipe made enough for 1-2 more meals. Edited addition - I now make this recipe with the Red Enchilada Sauce recipe from this site but use 6 oz tomato paste i/o tomato sauce so it's not too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was awesome! I did it exactly as it says and it was perfect. It does make a whole lot which is great! I've made it several times and it is a keeper in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States