Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was super delicious and my vegetarian friends loved it. I made the mistake of forgetting to put cream cheese in... but it still turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lucky
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Very tasty dish. I was skeptical of using sweet potato as a filler for enchiladas, but it came out pretty good. I did add extra spices and onions from which it called for. This recipe is a keeper because of the flavors and the use of the sweet potato. The only thing I will definitely change for the next time is that I will leave the sweet potato mixture a bit chunky. I did not care for the "mushiness" of the pureed filling. Perhaps add corn kernels of black beans?? I also will most definitely use a homemade enchilada sauce. The canned stuff does not do this recipe justice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is probably my second favorite on this site that I have made. Followed exactly as the recipe stated and they were awesome. Even my 9 and 14 year old children loved them. The only thing I will say is that if you have larger sweet potatoes you will get a lot more than what the recipe states. With 5 large sweet potatoes I made 2 13x9 pans of enchiladas which was enough for 2 meals for my family! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I would have never thought this would be good. It was wonderful. On a nfns diet and this will be added to our menu. It does make a lot of extra I cut it down for a serving for 4. I would use this recipe for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Thought it sounded like an interesting recipe, but I wasn't sure how it would turn out. It was great and I will definitely make it again. We were snowed in, so I had to use what was in the house. Substituted 1/2 onion (chopped) for the green onion, taco sauce for enchilada sauce and pita bread for tortillas. By stuffing the pitas (which I had still crisped up in a saute pan first) with the potato stuffing, it added a nice bulk and made them very easy to handle. Using McCormick Mexican Seasoning is a nice short cut for the seasoning too. It was a delicious, if non-traditional, snowy night meal :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This dish was good but not satisfying for our family. We normally really enjoy vegetarian dishes but this one left us wanting. It's certainly worth trying though - maybe it will be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
surprisingly delicious! i love sweet potatoes but the mixture of ingredients had me questioning it. it was amazing though! i used white sweet potatoes (didn't know it until i got home and started peeling the skin off and it wasn't orange, nevertheless, just as good) and also used fat free cream cheese to help cut down on the calories and fat. i also added a can of chicken, subbed sweet white onion for green and used green enchilada sauce instead of red. SOOOO good. the green sauce is a MUST! it complements the enchiladas so well. a little tip to cut down on the time is to peel and cube the sweet potatoes and boil them for fifteen minutes. cuts down about 20 minutes on cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Excellent. I have kinda picky kids so I left out the onions; I didn't fry to tortillas as I didn't see a need. And it was delicious. (The enchilada sauce I got was a little spicy for the younger diners, but that was a tactical error on my part). The only thing I'd note is that the number of sweet potatoes you need depends entirely on the size--I had only two, but they were both monsters and I had some filling left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Luebcke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Delicious! I tossed in a can of chicken breast so it appealed to my husband a bit more. I used green enchilada sauce and flour tortillas. Can't wait for leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is awesome!!! I made it both with green enchilada sauce and red. Our family prefers the green. Will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sizzlin' Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States