Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Excellent. I have kinda picky kids so I left out the onions; I didn't fry to tortillas as I didn't see a need. And it was delicious. (The enchilada sauce I got was a little spicy for the younger diners, but that was a tactical error on my part). The only thing I'd note is that the number of sweet potatoes you need depends entirely on the size--I had only two, but they were both monsters and I had some filling left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Delicious! I tossed in a can of chicken breast so it appealed to my husband a bit more. I used green enchilada sauce and flour tortillas. Can't wait for leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This is awesome!!! I made it both with green enchilada sauce and red. Our family prefers the green. Will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sizzlin' Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was amazing and will be added to the recipe rotation. I served it to my best friend the first night and my boyfriend the next night as leftovers, and both loved it. I made a few minor changes; I used whole wheat tortillas instead of corn and did not fry them. This saved a lot of time and I will definitely do the same next time I make this. Also, the enchilada sauce I bought was only 14 oz, so I made up the difference with 1/2 a 10 oz can of minced tomatoes with green chilies. I also added a skinned, seeded chopped tomato to the sauce and would have added more but I ran out of time. I liked the fresh tomato in the sauce and will add more next time; maybe 4-5, canned would be easier but would probably add too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This recipe was a hit! We liked it as is but next time I will double up the spices and add cayenne pepper. Great way to get veggies in and 2 of my 3 boys loved it (always one). This is going to become a "repeater" which does not happen often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is a good recipe idea. Mine turned out tasty but I think next time I may up the spices a bit, especially the chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
My boyfriend declared, "This is my new favorite dinner you make" So I want you know thats HUGE stuff! I only made a couple of changes here... I used green sauce instead of red sauce, used only 4 sweet potatoes, since mine were HUGE, and left out the green onions cause (SAD FACE) my boyfriend hates onions (sigh)... I wish I had left them in there... Anyways, it was SO GOOD... We had some left over filling but spread it on tortillas and ate it the next day....AWESOME recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA
Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Awesome stuff right here. I switched up a few things from the original like using yams instead of sweet potatoes because they have more nutritional value, tripling the spices, caramelizing a yellow onion instead of green with about 3 cloves of garlic before putting it into the mix. I just put the corn tortillas in the preheated oven for about 2 minutes to get them flexible enough to roll. I topped both kinds – I made red and green – with olives and bell peppers. I also added a chopped up jalapeno to the middle stuff. I think next time I'll add sausage if none of my veg friends are over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elliott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Armidale, New South Wales, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by N Morski
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I am always looking for meatless recipes and this is a simply Great! A good find and real keeper. I brought them for lunch at work to share with a friend and she couldn't stop raving about them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I also only used 3 large sweet potatos but kept the spices and cream cheese the same. I also added corn and black beans. I used the flour tortillas because that is all I had on hand and just warmed them in the microwave before filling. These are so good! My sixth grader had friends over and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scaredith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States