Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
so delicious! this was a huge hit! served with homemade enchilada sauce and topped with tomatoes and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used three big sweet potatoes and tripled the spices. Delicious! We will make these again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
These were surprisingly good! Im not a huge sweet potato fan, but had extra potatoes from Thanksgiving left over, so I decided to try something new. Im glad I did! This dish was so easy and tasted great! I had to alter it a bit because of what I had in my fridge. I used 1 oz. of cream cheese and a package of garlic and herb boursin cheese. Yum! I experimented with flour and corn tortillas, which were both good. The corn tasted more authentic though. The only cheese I had in the fridge was cheddar/american, and it tasted fine on top. Overall, these enchiladas did not even taste like sweet potatoes! They tasted authentic and very tasty! It is definitely worth trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My husband, mother-n-law, an myself thought these were great. Try 'em with peach salsa! However, as a warning, the teenager thought they were too weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Delicious! (esp if you like sweet potatoes). But they are flavored more like refried beans, Mexican style by the time you get this done. Half the poatoes and cream cheese and don't skimp on the seasonings (maybe double them for real mexican flav or. I didn'ty add the onions, but it would've tasted great with green chiles and fresh cilantro on top. You could even add a little rice and chicken inside too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
A couple of modifications: This is my favorite recipe, but it's labor intensive, so to save some effort, I steam the sweet potatoes 1-3 days ahead and refrigerate them. And instead of frying the tortillas, I brush them with oil and lay them on a baking sheet and bake 2-3 minutes on each side at 350 (this is also a lower-fat option).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was delicious, and I will definitely make it again. The only reason I am giving this recipe four stars is because of the changes I made to the recipe as written - some of which I think are necessary. After reading through all of the reviews I made the following modifications: I halved the number of sweet potatoes and cream cheese amount, but kept the chili power, cumin, and oregano measurements the same. If you are going to use the full amount of sweet potatoes and cream cheese, you really need to up the spices. Secondly, I cooked the sweet potatoes in the microwave for a few minutes rather than boiling them for 30 minutes. Thirdly, I used a tortilla warmer to heat up the tortillas in the microwave instead of frying. Lastly, I added a small amount of black beans into each tortilla before rolling them up (i.e., I didn't mash the beans with the sweet potatoes). Also, although I have made these with red sauce, I highly recommend trying with salsa verde (Goya brand is good). I also like to sprinkle extra green onion pieces once on top once out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
AMAZING! I used mole sauce and it was perfect. Im making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Ok, so like many of you, I was skeptical. Sweet Potato enchiladas? that sounds gross! But at the recommendation of a friend, I tried them anyways and I am so glad that I did! These were wonderful!!!! The only thing that I did differently was that I served them with a homemade salsa verde enchilada sauce (I'm not a big fan of red). These paired great with Mexican rice. Even my picky boyfriend loved them! Thanks!! We will definitely be having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laryanita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This recipe takes a lot of time to make, but it is SO WORTH IT! We have made this a few times when we have company, and it has always been a hit. This recipe makes about three dishes at a time, but that's never a problem. The enchiladas re-heat wonderfully in our toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States