Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My husband, mother-n-law, an myself thought these were great. Try 'em with peach salsa! However, as a warning, the teenager thought they were too weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Delicious! (esp if you like sweet potatoes). But they are flavored more like refried beans, Mexican style by the time you get this done. Half the poatoes and cream cheese and don't skimp on the seasonings (maybe double them for real mexican flav or. I didn'ty add the onions, but it would've tasted great with green chiles and fresh cilantro on top. You could even add a little rice and chicken inside too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
A couple of modifications: This is my favorite recipe, but it's labor intensive, so to save some effort, I steam the sweet potatoes 1-3 days ahead and refrigerate them. And instead of frying the tortillas, I brush them with oil and lay them on a baking sheet and bake 2-3 minutes on each side at 350 (this is also a lower-fat option).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This was delicious, and I will definitely make it again. The only reason I am giving this recipe four stars is because of the changes I made to the recipe as written - some of which I think are necessary. After reading through all of the reviews I made the following modifications: I halved the number of sweet potatoes and cream cheese amount, but kept the chili power, cumin, and oregano measurements the same. If you are going to use the full amount of sweet potatoes and cream cheese, you really need to up the spices. Secondly, I cooked the sweet potatoes in the microwave for a few minutes rather than boiling them for 30 minutes. Thirdly, I used a tortilla warmer to heat up the tortillas in the microwave instead of frying. Lastly, I added a small amount of black beans into each tortilla before rolling them up (i.e., I didn't mash the beans with the sweet potatoes). Also, although I have made these with red sauce, I highly recommend trying with salsa verde (Goya brand is good). I also like to sprinkle extra green onion pieces once on top once out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
AMAZING! I used mole sauce and it was perfect. Im making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Ok, so like many of you, I was skeptical. Sweet Potato enchiladas? that sounds gross! But at the recommendation of a friend, I tried them anyways and I am so glad that I did! These were wonderful!!!! The only thing that I did differently was that I served them with a homemade salsa verde enchilada sauce (I'm not a big fan of red). These paired great with Mexican rice. Even my picky boyfriend loved them! Thanks!! We will definitely be having these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laryanita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This recipe takes a lot of time to make, but it is SO WORTH IT! We have made this a few times when we have company, and it has always been a hit. This recipe makes about three dishes at a time, but that's never a problem. The enchiladas re-heat wonderfully in our toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it was freaking amazing! The canned enchilada sauce I used (Rosirita's I believe) was not that great. Next time I think I will make my own sauce and it will be perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
So very tasty. I added two diced zucchini and one sauteed yellow onion to the sweet potato mixture. Also used half a block of neufchatel and mixed it into sweet potatoes with a hand mixer. I used a can and a half of Hatch roasted green chili enchilada sauce and topped with sliced olives. Very tasty. Corn tortillas add a lot of great flavor so I recommend them over flour by far. Also no need to fry tortillas before filling, microwave for a few seconds, then dip them in sauce to soften. Makes one very heavy 9x13 dish, great for sharing or for giving to a neighbor. Worth the effort!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I think it would be better if you cubed the sweet potatoes rather than mashing, just to give it a little texture. I'd like to try it with green enchilada sauce per other reviewers next time. Overall it was a good and different way to prepare sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States