Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
these are SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
These are so good! I used 1/2 package of cream cheese and made my own enchilada sauce. I also didn't heat the corn tortillas in oil; instead, I warmed them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Good recipe- shows that unconventional combinations can work if you are adventurous! I think it would be great as is, so please don't think my modification are b/c I think the recipe needs changes! I made some adjustments b/c I wasn't going to the store to buy just 2 ingredients! I didn't have any cream cheese so I omitted that ingredient. I would have used it if I had it! If you have it (I didn't), a mexican style crumbly cheese would work good here too. Instead (again, I was working with what I had in stock), I added cooked ground pork (breakfast sausage seasoned) into the sweet potato filling. I know it sounds odd, but it works. I made beans the other day and cooked down the remaining liquid which was flavored with bacon, cilantro, salt, onions, and serrano peppers. I added a few tablespoons of the liquid into the filling to make it more of a savory flavor. (my sweet potato was REALLY sweet). Also, I used verde sauce instead b/c for some reason I had a can of it in the pantry and wanted to use it up. I really recommend frying the tortillas. This keeps the enchiladas from becoming mush. The enchiladas just don't come out the same if you don't. I know it's not low fat, but I would skimp on the cheese instead of skipping the frying to reduce fat content. That's of course just my opinion! For a less sweet enchilada I would recommend using pumpkin in place of the sweet potato and sprinkling pepitas on the top of the finished enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esp1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Delicious. Made with 3 large potatoes and found the filling to be a little bland...doubled the seasonings and it was great. It made 18 enchiladas for me. My husband liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe, all three kids and my husband lapped it up! When I bake sweet potatos I always do at least 6, then cool the extras and stick them in the fridge for these kinds of recipes. I used 2 HUGE pre-baked potatos for this, all the rest of the ingredients in their full listed amounts and had exactly the right amount of filling for 12 corn tortillas. I did do one substitution, instead of the can of enchilada sauce I used a full recipe of my homemade ranchero sauce, poured half in the bottom of the baking dish and the other half on top of the enchiladas. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Kees

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made these because of all the good reviews, but I wasn't sure I would like them. They are just as good as everyone keeps saying! I had 2 and a half baked sweet potatoes left over from Easter dinner, so that's how many I used. I added half a block of cream cheese and the full amount of spices. I didn't fry the tortillas, just heated them up in the microwave and put them in the enchilada sauce before filling up and rolling them. Added a bit more sauce and cheese on top. I used Chi-chi's Mild red Enchilada sauce and I thought it was tangy enough to compliment the filling. I'm already looking forward to having some tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
No need to use 5 potatoes unless you're cooking for a party. It made 30 enchiladas for me (maybe I made little ones, but still it makes a lot). I didn't use the oregano because I didn't have any. Also, I made a batch with red sauce and green sauce, and the green sauce tastes better IMO. My friends thought so too. Great dish though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Excellent and easy to make as far as enchiladas go. I think chipotle peppers would be a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
So good. I used flour tortillas instead and didn't pre-fry them. And I used fat free cream cheese. My new favorite enchiladas. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States