Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Crazy easy, delicious recipe! My picky kids loved it - didn't even realize they were eating sweet potatoes. This is going to become a "regular" recipe in our household. Only changes I made were to make my own enchilada sauce and to use whole wheat flour tortillas so no frying. Even easier and healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salford, Lancashire, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Wow! This recipe is amazing! My family loved them. I did peel and cut the sweet potatoes before boiling. I used 3 large sweet potatoes and I still filled a 13x9 pan with some to spare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I'd give it five, but my picky kids aren't enjoying the texture. I also doubled the seasoning and found that to be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
these are SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
These are so good! I used 1/2 package of cream cheese and made my own enchilada sauce. I also didn't heat the corn tortillas in oil; instead, I warmed them in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Good recipe- shows that unconventional combinations can work if you are adventurous! I think it would be great as is, so please don't think my modification are b/c I think the recipe needs changes! I made some adjustments b/c I wasn't going to the store to buy just 2 ingredients! I didn't have any cream cheese so I omitted that ingredient. I would have used it if I had it! If you have it (I didn't), a mexican style crumbly cheese would work good here too. Instead (again, I was working with what I had in stock), I added cooked ground pork (breakfast sausage seasoned) into the sweet potato filling. I know it sounds odd, but it works. I made beans the other day and cooked down the remaining liquid which was flavored with bacon, cilantro, salt, onions, and serrano peppers. I added a few tablespoons of the liquid into the filling to make it more of a savory flavor. (my sweet potato was REALLY sweet). Also, I used verde sauce instead b/c for some reason I had a can of it in the pantry and wanted to use it up. I really recommend frying the tortillas. This keeps the enchiladas from becoming mush. The enchiladas just don't come out the same if you don't. I know it's not low fat, but I would skimp on the cheese instead of skipping the frying to reduce fat content. That's of course just my opinion! For a less sweet enchilada I would recommend using pumpkin in place of the sweet potato and sprinkling pepitas on the top of the finished enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esp1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Delicious. Made with 3 large potatoes and found the filling to be a little bland...doubled the seasonings and it was great. It made 18 enchiladas for me. My husband liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe, all three kids and my husband lapped it up! When I bake sweet potatos I always do at least 6, then cool the extras and stick them in the fridge for these kinds of recipes. I used 2 HUGE pre-baked potatos for this, all the rest of the ingredients in their full listed amounts and had exactly the right amount of filling for 12 corn tortillas. I did do one substitution, instead of the can of enchilada sauce I used a full recipe of my homemade ranchero sauce, poured half in the bottom of the baking dish and the other half on top of the enchiladas. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Kees

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made these because of all the good reviews, but I wasn't sure I would like them. They are just as good as everyone keeps saying! I had 2 and a half baked sweet potatoes left over from Easter dinner, so that's how many I used. I added half a block of cream cheese and the full amount of spices. I didn't fry the tortillas, just heated them up in the microwave and put them in the enchilada sauce before filling up and rolling them. Added a bit more sauce and cheese on top. I used Chi-chi's Mild red Enchilada sauce and I thought it was tangy enough to compliment the filling. I'm already looking forward to having some tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States