Sweet Potato Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JoAnn
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Pleasantly surprised by this recipe! The only changes I made were, I used 2 sweet potatoes, but kept the spices measurements per the recipe. I also made my own enchilada sauce because I prefer my own homemade. I was able to fill 10 tortillas. These were perfect & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
I've made this 6 or 7 times, and I think I've got it down now. There's only two of us, so I halve the recipe, but keep the spice quantities the same. To keep things really easy, I drain and mash two 15-oz. cans of yams with 4 oz. whipped Greek yogurt/cream cheese. As suggested by others, I chop, saute and add one medium onion. With the spices, I add less than 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon (not too much!) and a tablespoon of finely chopped fresh cilantro (love it!). Fresh tortillas are soft enough that I don't have to fry or even heat them prior to rolling the enchiladas; that said, I do find flour tortillas less prone to cracking and splitting than the corn ones. I usually get about 9 enchiladas, which fit snugly into a prepared 7x11" casserole dish. Top with 10 oz. green enchilada sauce, 1/2 package of shredded cheese, and another tablespoon of chopped cilantro, bake as directed -- mmmmmm! Very filling, and leftovers seldom live to see the next sunset. What a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Oh these were Amazing !!!! I tweeked a few things but stayed on track i only used 2 sweet potatoes and doubled the spices as previous reviewers recomended . I did make a few of my own changes such as adding a can of black beans rinse and draind to lower sodium. i also added a small can of ortega green chilis andman was this a great dinner probabbly best enchildias i have ever had. I did a batch of green and red they both were tasty and i have left overs for two more times :) my seven month old son loved them but not my picky 2 year old she wouldnt even try them .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I didn't fry the shells first. Just filled them with potato mixture, and put in casserole dish with other ingredients and baked. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Farmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Loved this recipe. I made my own Mexican Enchilada sauce that included cocoa and that completed it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
This was ok. I fed four kids and two adults. Only one of the kids liked it. I though it was ok. My sister loved it. I omitted the cumin and didn't have green onions. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
So good. I will make this again (maybe next week). I used green sauce and added almost double the chili pepper and cumin. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I had my doubts, but these are some of the best enchiladas I've ever had. I used flour tortillas and added sliced olives and a lot more green onions. This recipe will be in heavy rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Super! I used 5 small sweet potatoes which I peeled, cut and steamed for 10 minutes. I also used flavored flour tortillas because the particular corn tortillas I purchased were a bit small to properly roll up without the filling spilling out. I cut back the cream cheese to 4 oz. Served this with a pepper mix cooked up in a cast iron skillet. Good weeknight vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by akmf
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Wow...all i can say is Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

These vegetarian burritos have a slightly spicy and utterly addictive flavor.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States