Sweet Potato Eggnog Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
We're not big on "sweet" sweet potato casseroles, so the only change I made was to reduce the sugar. This is so easy to make, and the orange zest gives you a nice pop of freshness, really enhancing the flavor of the sweet potatoes. Unfortunately, I thought the eggnog flavor was lost. I cut this recipe in half using one can of sweet potatoes, and two of us finished it off (and we didn't pig out, either). In this house, I think the full recipe would serve 6, not 8, so the number of servings might be one thing that you consider. Good weeknight side dish served with a pork roast. Certainly would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I varied from great-grandma's recipe a couple years ago and used this one. Everyone loved it! I did use fresh sweet potatoes and skipped the sugar since eggnog is so sweet already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Good way to use up leftover eggnog. I, too, used fresh potatoes and cut back a little on the sugar to 2/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I used jarred Valencia Orange Peel and I think that was a mistake. Since it was not freshly grated orange zest, I probably should have used less. The amount I used caused a bitter taste that overpowered the eggnog. Since sweet potato and eggnog are two of my favorite foots, that was a disappointment. In all fairness, it was my fault for making the substitution; so, I'm not taking any points away from the recipe. I will try again with fresh orange zest. I just wanted to share my experience so others wouldn't make the same mistake. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Just delicious, and so easy using the canned sweet potatoes. Certainly one I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
this was a great recipe and super simple the only thing different I did was topp it with marshmallows the last 5 minutes lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
was very good with pork roast. a great twist to a weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Everyone loved the flavor of this dish, the only change I made was I used fresh sweet potatoes instead of canned. I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I thought this recipe was great! Had to double it for 15 people. Did use fresh sweet potatoes, approx 4 lbs for that may people, peeled and boiled for ~ 15 minutes till tender, smashed with a fork and followed rest of recipe. Did substitute brown sugar for white. Turned out delicious! Next time will dot with some butter and a tad brown sugar and pecans over top for more of a crust while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States