Sweet Potato Cupcakes with Toasted Marshmallow Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
A couple of notes: I use unsalted butter, and canned sweet potato puree works great if you don't want to cook and mash fresh ones. Also, I spray the half cup measure with cooking spray which makes the marshmallow fluff easier to get out. The recipe makes just enough frosting to top 12 cupcakes; if your egg whites are small or you like a lot of frosting, you might want to double the batch or use three egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by DebraF
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These are really good! I used a fresh yam. I peeled it and cut it up and cooked it in the mic for about six minutes. One large yam yields about one cup. I read one of the other reviews about the runny frosting and if you do not whip the egg whites long enough on the double boiler it will be runny. Also make sure that your pan and utensils are grease free. A plain round #12 tip will let you pipe high marshmallow like peaks. Also, I ended up with enough batter for 18 2 1/2 standard cupcakes and the frosting recipe was enough to frost them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebraF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Yummy! Very, very yummy! I ended up with enough batter to make 6 mini cupcakes in addition to the 12 regular sized ones, and I filled the cups pretty much to the top. That was the easy part. Then I got to the frosting, and it was a bit of a disaster. I assume I did not beat it long enough, even though I set my kitchen timer to ensure I went the whole 7 minutes. It looked to me as though peaks were forming, but apparently they weren't stiff enough, as the result was a VERY runny frosting! So I set to work trying to thicken it by adding powdered sugar. I stuck it in the fridge for awhile, and it set up somewhat...still, I ended up with more of a glaze than a frosting. Since the glaze/frosting was sticky, I went ahead and put some mini marshmallows on top and put them under the broiler as directed. They taste amazing! I am sure the frosting error was mine, and I will try again, making sure stiff peaks form before I proceed. Also, next time I think I will up the spices just a notch, because I love the spicy flavors of Fall so much! Thanks for a fun and scrumptious recipe Doughgirl8 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I loved the flavor of the cupcakes and the marshmallow frosting, but the cupcakes were a bit dense. I don't know if I did something wrong (I don't think I did) since I followed the recipe exactly and I'm a relatively experienced baker. Overall, I probably won't try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I really loved this recipe, the cupcakes were DELICIOUS. I used canned sweet potatoes instead of fresh, and they still tasted really good. The one thing I had a real problem with was stabalized the frosting. I mixed it for at least a half an hour and tried heating it, but I couldn't get it to be that fluffy marshmallow texture. But other than that, this recipe was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by salslo
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I LOVE this recipe, but I didn't see it necessary to use vanilla and marshmallow fluff to the frosting recipe. The frosting recipe tastes just like marshmallows on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salslo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lbettell20
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
These cupcakes were absolutely delicious!! I made them for Thanksgiving, but used cream cheese frosting instead of the marshmallow and they were a huge hit!! Sprinkle a little bit of walnuts on top and you'll have people begging for more! : ) I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbettell20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I LOVED these cupcakes! So fluffy and moist, the perfect cupcake texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
They are so festive and delicious! I will definitely make these again for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisawas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I tried these at a company potluck. I love all the spices in the cupcakes and the toasted marshmallow frosting was amazing--a perfect complement to the autumn spices. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States