Sweet Potato Cupcakes with Toasted Marshmallow Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
These are some of the best cupcakes I've ever tasted. My oldest wants these for her wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Really good, even though omitted the marshmallow frosting and used a caramel drizzle type frosting. I used canned yams like another reviewer did, and I got the ones in syrup by accident, so I drained the syrup and washed any residue off the yams. Also, ran out of muffin liners so just sprayed the pan with cooking spray, no problems with sticking. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Make these you won't be disappointed:))) they'll be begging for more:) I have made this recipe dozens of times. Everyone we have made them for raves about the flavor and the texture . They do come out perfect every time:) . Here are a few minor things we do differently . Unsalted butter No salt in recipe Milk is unsweetened coconut almond milk because it's in the house My husband makes cream cheese frosting for them instead of the traditional marshmallow. Thank you for the recipe, makes us look great every time & everywhere we bring them:))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
These cupcakes are super tasty! I doubled the recipe and ended up with enough batter for 24 cupcakes and a 8" round cake. After all that, I still had at least two cups of frosting left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I am so glad I made a double batch because these cupcakes are outstanding. Perfectly spiced, not too sweet and nice and moist. The marshmallow frosting was excellent, plus fun to torch. I also made a caramel frosting that was very good on the cakes. These will be a regular for my fall baking. Thanks, Doughgirl8
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Super delicious! I also had problems with the frosting :( I must have not had the egg whites whippppped stiff enough. Once I added the crème goodbye shape, goodbye stiff peaks. It was still yummy frosting and turned out lovely after toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I really loved this recipe, the cupcakes were DELICIOUS. I used canned sweet potatoes instead of fresh, and they still tasted really good. The one thing I had a real problem with was stabalized the frosting. I mixed it for at least a half an hour and tried heating it, but I couldn't get it to be that fluffy marshmallow texture. But other than that, this recipe was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I loved the flavor of the cupcakes and the marshmallow frosting, but the cupcakes were a bit dense. I don't know if I did something wrong (I don't think I did) since I followed the recipe exactly and I'm a relatively experienced baker. Overall, I probably won't try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebraF
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
These are really good! I used a fresh yam. I peeled it and cut it up and cooked it in the mic for about six minutes. One large yam yields about one cup. I read one of the other reviews about the runny frosting and if you do not whip the egg whites long enough on the double boiler it will be runny. Also make sure that your pan and utensils are grease free. A plain round #12 tip will let you pipe high marshmallow like peaks. Also, I ended up with enough batter for 18 2 1/2 standard cupcakes and the frosting recipe was enough to frost them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebraF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by salslo
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I LOVE this recipe, but I didn't see it necessary to use vanilla and marshmallow fluff to the frosting recipe. The frosting recipe tastes just like marshmallows on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salslo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States