Sweet Potato Cupcakes with Toasted Marshmallow Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lbettell20
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
These cupcakes were absolutely delicious!! I made them for Thanksgiving, but used cream cheese frosting instead of the marshmallow and they were a huge hit!! Sprinkle a little bit of walnuts on top and you'll have people begging for more! : ) I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbettell20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I LOVED these cupcakes! So fluffy and moist, the perfect cupcake texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Yummy! Very, very yummy! I ended up with enough batter to make 6 mini cupcakes in addition to the 12 regular sized ones, and I filled the cups pretty much to the top. That was the easy part. Then I got to the frosting, and it was a bit of a disaster. I assume I did not beat it long enough, even though I set my kitchen timer to ensure I went the whole 7 minutes. It looked to me as though peaks were forming, but apparently they weren't stiff enough, as the result was a VERY runny frosting! So I set to work trying to thicken it by adding powdered sugar. I stuck it in the fridge for awhile, and it set up somewhat...still, I ended up with more of a glaze than a frosting. Since the glaze/frosting was sticky, I went ahead and put some mini marshmallows on top and put them under the broiler as directed. They taste amazing! I am sure the frosting error was mine, and I will try again, making sure stiff peaks form before I proceed. Also, next time I think I will up the spices just a notch, because I love the spicy flavors of Fall so much! Thanks for a fun and scrumptious recipe Doughgirl8 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
They are so festive and delicious! I will definitely make these again for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisawas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellesley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I tried these at a company potluck. I love all the spices in the cupcakes and the toasted marshmallow frosting was amazing--a perfect complement to the autumn spices. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I loved these cupcakes! They were moist, sweet, and super cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
These cupcakes are like the best spice cake, sweet potato casserole and pumpkin pie you've ever had rolled into one palm-sized ball of deliciousness. They are really fantastic and I can't wait to try making them myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinebelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
A couple of notes: I use unsalted butter, and canned sweet potato puree works great if you don't want to cook and mash fresh ones. Also, I spray the half cup measure with cooking spray which makes the marshmallow fluff easier to get out. The recipe makes just enough frosting to top 12 cupcakes; if your egg whites are small or you like a lot of frosting, you might want to double the batch or use three egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States