Sweet Potato Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is an excellent dish, though I did make some adjustments. Those who said this was almost a dessert were not joking. This *is* a dessert! Texture is that of a chiffon/whipped sweet potato pie, that close southern cousin to pumpkin pie. I decreased the sugar to 2/3rds but could have cut it back even more and been happy. The topping really provides enough sweetness. For those with nut allergies, I substituted 2/3 cup dry oatmeal for the pecans, and just toasted it in a non-stick frying pan with the butter until very lightly browned. Add the brown sugar and keep stirring over medium heat until sugar melts and *just* starts to clump. add the flour. The crunchy sugar and oats provides the same/similar texture of the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
This sweet potato casserole is just like the one they serve at Damon's Restaurant (if anyone else craves it as much as my husband)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
Absolutely awesome. Another reviewer is right...this is exactly like Damon's restaurant...and since the one near us closed....I am glad to get this recipe. Thanks for the post. Definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving, with a few adjustments. I made it the week before following the directions exactly and it was waaaaaaay too sweet. Then for Thanksgiving, I more than doubled the amount of sweet potatoes (8 cups, made from 4 giant potatoes mashed) and then it was perfect. I also added a bit of nutmeg and cinnamon which deepen the flavor. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Tried this for Christmas dinner and it was a big hit! Sweet potatoes taste 'custardy' with the egg. A new standard at our house. I only used half the white sugar and substituted walnuts and pistachios (left over from Christmas cookies...) Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Best ever sweet potato recipe. It's the only recipe I use now. The first time I made this was Thanksgiving, 2008. Everyone wanted this recipe and my family gobbled them up very fast. No one touched my sister in-laws recipe. I had to make them again one week later because my husband hardly got to eat any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I didn't quite know what to expect with this recipe. I mistakenly bought a sweet potato (instead of a parsnip) and thought I'd try to find an interesting recipe. I liked the topping, though I used pistachio nuts instead of pecans. I just couldn't get used to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This recipie is delicious. I dont like sweet potatos but LOVED this. However, next time I make it I am only going to use a half cup of sugar. A whole cup makes it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shelby, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Delightful. Added some cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
It's very delicious and very sweet. Play with the amount of sugar you use to find what's right for your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States