Sweet Potato Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Used 2 cups baked sweet potato ( yams) because that's what I ended up with.... Also used 1/2 cup honey instead of sugar.... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Loved Loved Loved it. I actually added a little nutmeg, cinnamon and vanilla to the ingredients. And I baked it in a glass pan for only 25 minutes. I also melted two tablespoons of 'butter' and poured it on the top immediately after removing it from the oven. It turned out fabulously. Add your own little twist to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daniellekids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gammaray (=
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Very good! This is the first homemade cornbread I've liked [other than the recipe that I lost several years ago )=]. Easy to make and tasty, too (= I did use soy milk, because it's what I have on hand, and extra light olive oil - for the same reason. I served it with (spray) butter and a sprinkle of sweetener - our sub for honey butter . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gammaray (=

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This recipe came out dry and hard when I made it the first time. I increased the milk to 1 cup, the oil to 1/2 cup, and added one cup of applesauce. I also upped the sugar to 3/4 cup and added a teaspoon of baking soda so it would rise more. Came out light, fluffy and sweet. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. I altered it to my tastes so it's quite a bit healthier and more flavorful. My changes: Used three cups sweet potatoes, skins still on. Used 1 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup ground flaxseed. 1/2 cup brown sugar. Omitted the salt and added two tsp pumpkin pie spice. Used one cup milk to compensate for the ww flour. & used applesauce instead of vegetable oil. I baked them as muffins for about 10 mins at 425. They came out quite dense and lighty sweet and flavorful. Would be great with a bit of butter or some apricot jam. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Wow! This is fantastic!!! I made 1/3 into mini muffins and the rest into cornbread, and I'm having trouble resisting the urge to pick at the large pan of yumminess! I love the fact that there's sweet potatoes snuck in, and my hubby couldn't tell. Yum-o to the max, for breakfast or with ribs for dinner, and maybe with vanilla ice cream for dessert. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I hate to give a recipe a bad review just because I didn't like it, but my kids wouldn't even eat it, and they aren't picky. They love sweet potatoes and they love my cornbread. I followed the recipe exactly. It was very thick, not crumbly at all which was a plus, but the flavor is hard to explain. I could REALLY taste the cornmeal. That was the strongest flavor. I don't know if I will ever try this again, but if I do I will add much more sugar, possibly brown sugar, and add some honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkland, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
i used squash instead of sweet potatoes (used about a 1/2 cup less) and it worked amzing and were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
It's moist and crumbly at the same time, with a lovely barely-sweet flavor and no taste of the baking powder that I find in most quickbreads. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Followed the recipe but added about 1/2 c of oil instead of 1/3 c. They came out very moist! I couldn't taste the sweet potato either but overall they turned out very good! Didn't use the 9X13, I used a muffin pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States