Sweet Potato Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Amazing cookie! Definitely gonna make again!!! Delicious and comforting flavors!!!!! Mostly followed instructions except as follows: used butter flavored shortening instead of butter, (had none), added ginger, cinnamon, coriander, and vanilla along with the nutmeg that was called for; didn't have honey so doubled the amount of white sugar, and didn't have lemon so used lime zest. After making them into balls I rolled them in sugar and lightly flattened with a fork. Couldn't taste the lime in the finished product (thankfully, that may have been weird) but used it in the recipe anyway because I knew some sort of citrus zest would "brighten" up the other flavors. Oh, and mixed in 1 1/2 cup of raisins and chopped prunes that I needed to use. I know the prunes may sound gross, but I chopped them so tiny and had more raisins than prunes so they blended in nicely, wont tell my kids and they never guessed! Next time will try to make over the recipe using healthier alternatives like splenda, applesauce, egg whites, and want to add pecans or walnuts. Very happy to have found this recipe, thanks for posting it! Oh, and it may not be important but I didn't even use the same sweet potato they used... I had frozen leftover sweet potato casserole from thanksgiving! I thawed it in the microwave and substituted it for the raw, grated sweet potato. I bet canned pumpkin would work well, too. What a hoot! Fabulous and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
My son's literature class is reading a novel that takes place in Africa and he had to bring something made with yams for a presentation. We wanted to do something different so made these cookies, but with yams instead of sweet potatoes. These were a huge hit!! My son asked to make another batch for home- they were very moist! We did make a few minor changes: we added 3 T of splenda brown sugar sub., as well as 1 t. of vanilla, 1 t. of cinnamon, and increased the lemon zest to 2 t. We made them bigger, yielding 24 cookies instead of 36, so baked them at 325 for about 10 minutes. When they were done, we topped each with a small dollop of lemon cream cheese frosting as another poster suggested. Either the kids all loved them because they really were very good, or they were just so relieved not to see another whipped yam and marshmallow casserole-I'm not sure which!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
excellent...i substituted with squash and they were great! added lemon extract though. next time i will add some brown sugar and cut the white a little to make them more crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This is by far the strangest cookie I have ever made. It has almost a cake-like texture; VERY soft and fluffy, and the flavor of the nutmeg comes out beautifully (I also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract) with a perfect hint of sweet potato goodness. Fresh out of the oven, it didn't seem to have too much flavor although the texture was lovely. I waited for it to set for a while and about four hours later, it was perfect. I've eaten five already, and made a batch of thirty. By their quality, I'd say they'll be gone the second my apartmentmates wake up tomorrow ;^_^ Unexpectedly excellent recipe: Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TYPOEMPRESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
What an unexpected treat. I tried this recipe for fun but it is really good. I used a bit more sugar than the recipe and added vanilla (1 tsp. They have a wonderful texture. I made the first batch plain and added a simple glaze on top. The second batch I pushed a mini marchmallow in the middle and topped with a bit of brown sugar like a mini sweet potato casserole. They looked really cute and were a great thanksgiving warm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These cookies are absolutely delicious - very light and extremely moist. I am a health nut so I tweaked the recipe a little bit - I used 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup canola oil in place of the butter. I also added 1 teasp. of vanilla extract. And I ended up baking the cookies for about 10 minutes. I would definitely make this recipe again - the lemon zest added a nice kick. I baked them last night, left them overnight to cool, and tried them this morning - absolutely delicious and healthier than many other cookie recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
These cookies were wonderful. Moist and refreshingly different and healthy. I agree with the other reviews that they are more of a biscuit consistency. I dipped the tops in colored sugar so that they would appeal to my toddler who initially said no to the sweet potato. She loves them. I also subbed 1/2 cup wheat germ and 1/2 whole wheat flour. They were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I had peeled one too many sweet potatoes while making dinner tonight, so I looked up a recipe that I'd be able to use up my extra sweet potato. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! These cookies are sooo good! But what really took them over the top was when I realized that I had some leftover lemon cream cheese icing from my son's birthday cake the other day. I put a small smear of icing on each cookie.... AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was a very interesting cookie, but very yummy! I replaced the lemon zest with cinnamon, and it turned out great! A little more butter, though, is all I would recommend as it turned out slightly dry. It was pretty easy to make and quick, too. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canis Lupus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Easy to make and tasty. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, added extra honey and baking powder. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States