Sweet Potato Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I love healthy food, and this didn't do it for me. They taste biscuity. Love the concept, I just think they need some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I made this recipe for my cooking club as the theme was Cookies and I wanted something semi-healthy. I made with all organic ingredients, replaced all purpose flour with all whole wheat flour, added a little more honey, added cinnamon, used vegan butter in place of regular butter, added 1/2c to 3/4 c zucchini and 1/2 bag of chocolate chips. I baked on stoneware so it took about 15mins. They were a little cakey but they were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeniece

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Easy to make and tasty. I used 1/2 whole wheat flour, added extra honey and baking powder. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This was a very interesting cookie, but very yummy! I replaced the lemon zest with cinnamon, and it turned out great! A little more butter, though, is all I would recommend as it turned out slightly dry. It was pretty easy to make and quick, too. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canis Lupus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Liked them O.K. Ended up giving them to my more healthy eating friends and they loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WONDERHEATHER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I had peeled one too many sweet potatoes while making dinner tonight, so I looked up a recipe that I'd be able to use up my extra sweet potato. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! These cookies are sooo good! But what really took them over the top was when I realized that I had some leftover lemon cream cheese icing from my son's birthday cake the other day. I put a small smear of icing on each cookie.... AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
These are tasty but they definitely taste like healthy cookies. To boost this flavor, use whole wheat flour. The consistency is somewhere between a cake-like cookie and a scone. They do not expand much while baking are are a breeze to get off the pan. I baked them for 9 minutes. One lemon will give roughly enough zest for a double recipe. I also added some cinnamon to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SABLENK2
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I didn't have a lemon, so I substituted finely chopped candied ginger, and reduced the fat by using half margarine and half applesauce for the butter. To make them more appealing to my son, I also topped them with a mini marshmallow and a sliver of candied ginger before baking. These did, as previous cooks commented, come out like mini scones. They were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
These cookies were wonderful. Moist and refreshingly different and healthy. I agree with the other reviews that they are more of a biscuit consistency. I dipped the tops in colored sugar so that they would appeal to my toddler who initially said no to the sweet potato. She loves them. I also subbed 1/2 cup wheat germ and 1/2 whole wheat flour. They were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
These cookies are absolutely delicious - very light and extremely moist. I am a health nut so I tweaked the recipe a little bit - I used 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup canola oil in place of the butter. I also added 1 teasp. of vanilla extract. And I ended up baking the cookies for about 10 minutes. I would definitely make this recipe again - the lemon zest added a nice kick. I baked them last night, left them overnight to cool, and tried them this morning - absolutely delicious and healthier than many other cookie recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States