Sweet Potato Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Substitute 1 cup Brown sugar for sugar. Add 1 ts vanilla, add 1 ts cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond Heights, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Light and lovely! Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Pretty good. I rolled them into balls and pressed down with a fork like a peanut butter cookie. The lemon flavor was nice. Not an astounding cookie, but a decent, healthy alternative to most recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceridwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Glad I read the reviews first! I mixed in about a tablespoon of water after the final mix, and ours turned out delicious & moist. I'm so glad to have found a cookie with so little sweetener. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Thanks to the reviews for giving good feedback on these cookies. That helped me know what I would get and how I might want to tweak the recipe as I went along. The reviewers said it was like a biscuit so I cut back to 1 tsp of baking powder and increased to 2 eggs. That made the cookies more like little, puffy cakes. I like the glaze idea also but they are also good without glaze. Next time I will roll the ball of batter before spooning it onto the baking pan to get a rounder finished shape in the cookie. I would also try them with already-baked and sweetened chunks of sweet potato in the batter in place of, or in addition to, the shreds of raw sweet potato. Overall I great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Amazing cookie! Definitely gonna make again!!! Delicious and comforting flavors!!!!! Mostly followed instructions except as follows: used butter flavored shortening instead of butter, (had none), added ginger, cinnamon, coriander, and vanilla along with the nutmeg that was called for; didn't have honey so doubled the amount of white sugar, and didn't have lemon so used lime zest. After making them into balls I rolled them in sugar and lightly flattened with a fork. Couldn't taste the lime in the finished product (thankfully, that may have been weird) but used it in the recipe anyway because I knew some sort of citrus zest would "brighten" up the other flavors. Oh, and mixed in 1 1/2 cup of raisins and chopped prunes that I needed to use. I know the prunes may sound gross, but I chopped them so tiny and had more raisins than prunes so they blended in nicely, wont tell my kids and they never guessed! Next time will try to make over the recipe using healthier alternatives like splenda, applesauce, egg whites, and want to add pecans or walnuts. Very happy to have found this recipe, thanks for posting it! Oh, and it may not be important but I didn't even use the same sweet potato they used... I had frozen leftover sweet potato casserole from thanksgiving! I thawed it in the microwave and substituted it for the raw, grated sweet potato. I bet canned pumpkin would work well, too. What a hoot! Fabulous and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
My son's literature class is reading a novel that takes place in Africa and he had to bring something made with yams for a presentation. We wanted to do something different so made these cookies, but with yams instead of sweet potatoes. These were a huge hit!! My son asked to make another batch for home- they were very moist! We did make a few minor changes: we added 3 T of splenda brown sugar sub., as well as 1 t. of vanilla, 1 t. of cinnamon, and increased the lemon zest to 2 t. We made them bigger, yielding 24 cookies instead of 36, so baked them at 325 for about 10 minutes. When they were done, we topped each with a small dollop of lemon cream cheese frosting as another poster suggested. Either the kids all loved them because they really were very good, or they were just so relieved not to see another whipped yam and marshmallow casserole-I'm not sure which!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
i had to increase the cook time but thats it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
excellent...i substituted with squash and they were great! added lemon extract though. next time i will add some brown sugar and cut the white a little to make them more crisp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Would not make these again. So bland. Definitely need a lot more spice, nuts, raisins, oats something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States