Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
i prepared this just like "Sherri" did, except do not care for sweet potato's so used a mix of russets, for thickness, and a couple yukon golds, they have a hink of sweetness, with out sweet potaoes addwd some red and yellow peppers and chopped onion and some garlic, older crock pot, and 8-9 hrs on low was perfect-to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
What a wonderful chili. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is awesome! Had ground ham in the freezer to use up so used that instead of the ground turkey/beef. FANTASTIC! Will be making again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This chili was terrific! Wanting to use up some sweet potatoes and ground meat that I had in the freezer I searched for some crockpot recipes and found this one. I'm so glad I found it! A really good hearty chili that took very little prep time. Having 1lb of ground turkey in the freezer to use up, I used all of it and eliminated the ground beef. (only because I had 1lb of turkey meat) The cumin has such a distinct taste that I opted to just use 1/2 tsp instead of 1 tsp which I think was a good call. I put all BUT the meat and beans in and let it go for 3 hours then realised I had to leave the house and wouldn't be back in time to put the meat in when the recipe said. So.... I gave it a quick stir,added the browned turkey meat and covered it for the next 5 hrs until I got home. When I got back,I threw in the beans and shut the crockpot off. Within the next 20 min we were sitting down eating this really good chili! I suggest that you stir the ingredients only when you first put them in and not again until the meat and beans are added. Crockpot recipes are not generally intended to have the cover removed until the cooking time is up. I WILL be making this often and add the ground beef the next time to see how good that tastes! Perfect! A great spicey, flavorful and hearty dinner. Thanks for a really good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Just got an email from the hubby that says 'I love it - don't change a thing!' Yeah....it's that good. Surprised at how much we loved this - I thought the sweet potato might throw off the chili with how sweet they are but this is really really good; and so easy to boot! Left out the cinnamon and glad I did (I can't stand cinnamon in my chilis or savory food in general). As others mentioned, my sweet potatoes were done way earlier than 5 hours on high, I will start checking at 3 hours next time. I wasn't sure what 'stewed tomatoes with chili seasonings' was - was this chili spices or was it green chilis so I subbed 2 cans of whatever that was with 2 cans of Rotel (one hot and one original - my mouth is on fire right now! Need to remember to ease up on the cayenne if using hot Rotel next time) and it worked out well. Slightly less in volume (10 oz vs 14.5 oz), but perfect in texture/taste. This is a great way to use up that box of sweet potatoes you bought for Thanksgiving! Loved the mix of turkey/beef (I do this for taco soup too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Fantastic. I followed the recipe to a T and yummy, yummy, yummy is all I have to say. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Makes excellent chili! I substitued a can of kidney beans for black beans, and actually added some more water because it seemed to be drying up. Came out wonderful and rich in tastes. Next time I'm going to put the beans in from the start to get them softer, and make more! This was only enough for 4 servings, but we couldn't help ourselves...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
mmm, so good. No celery, so I opted out. Browned meat and onions. Also added some brown sugar, chicken bouillon, a dash of Worcestershire sauce and a can of tomato soup to round out the flavours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is soooo good. We've made it twice, once with all ground beef, once with all ground turkey. You can't go wrong either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States