Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I left out the water and salt. Used a 1/2 teaspoon for everything that said "pinch." If you love spicy chili like I do, add a jalapeno for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made this recipe. The store didn't have any tomatoes with chili seasoning, so I used chili beans that have the seasoning. Not sure if that was a problem, but both my husband and I thought this tasted strange. The sweet potatoes and cinnamon clashed with the traditional chili seasonings in the recipe. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This recipe was a wonderful twist on chili I feed to the whole family and everybody wanted seconds and lunch for the next day excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Delicious! The sweet potatoes make it a sweeter tasting chili, which I like for a change. I used lentils instead of black beans, because I always do in chili, and I added some cilantro when adding the meat and lentils, which was yummy. I don't think it needs to cook on high for as long as the recipe says, I turned it down to low after about 3 hours on high and left it on low for the remaining 3 hours, and it definitely was quite well cooked, the sweet potatoes were quite soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Only changes I made to simplify things was cut potatoes to the size of home style fries, made everything that was a "pinch" 1/4 tsp, drained and used entire can of corn, entire medium sweet onion since some are huge, closer to a cup of celery, and cooked 8 hrs low, putting the burger, beans and corn in the last 3 hrs. Corn bread muffins were great to eat AND crumbled on top! Was chunky with only a little liquid. Wife and daughter really liked it even though not sweet potato fans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by czechyour6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made the recipe as directed and it turned out okay. The chopped up the sweet potatoes small and they were very tender. The chili came out soupy but that might be fixed if I had kept it on longer. Over all it was a bit too sweet and not really like chili. There was not enough heat. While I will eat the rest of what I made I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
A hit with everyone. My wife loves sweet potatoes and tells me this is her favorite chili of the ones I make. I did only put half the called for sweet potatoes. Used only ground turkey - and put everything into the crock pot at the same time. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was great. I followed it almost exactly, but didn't have chili powder so added a little paprika, a tad bit more cayenne, a little more water, and used all turkey instead of adding 1/2 beef. It was wonderful on a cold rainy day. My young college student roommate loved it. The sweet potatoes do get a bit mushy, but it still tastes great. Recommended.!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
i prepared this just like "Sherri" did, except do not care for sweet potato's so used a mix of russets, for thickness, and a couple yukon golds, they have a hink of sweetness, with out sweet potaoes addwd some red and yellow peppers and chopped onion and some garlic, older crock pot, and 8-9 hrs on low was perfect-to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ewing, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States