Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Love it with potatoes instead of sweet potatoes and I also used soy meat instead of real!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
We really loved this recipe. This can be changed easily to a vegetarian dish by omitting the meat and adding an extra can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent!!!!! The best chili I have ever made or ate!! Used all turkey and only 1 of the cans of tomatos had chili seasonings so overall it was tasty w/o being too spicy for the kids. They are normally picky but ate this. I served green Tabasco on the side for the adults who needed more of a kick. Very Yummy! Just be sure to start it well ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I LOVE this chili. I think it is the most delicious chili I have ever had. I love the cinnamon in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was really different... and delicious! Changed it slightly due to ingredients on hand. Deleted all meat. Used home canned tomatoes instead of stewed, 1 can Rotel, and hot Mexican chili spice instead of regular chili powder. Added kidney beans. Have already passed along the recipe and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This recipe was yummy. I didn't have time to get it all together in the morning because I was late for work, so I had to make it in a much shorter time frame than allotted in the recipe. I browned my meat (I used 1.3 lbs lean ground beef) with 1/2 of a yellow onion that was diced. I also put my sweet potatoes in the microwave for about 8 minutes and then diced them before throwing everything together in the slow cooker. I cooked it on high for about 2.5 to 3 hours. It probably wold have been even better if I had been able to follow the recipe exactly, but it was still very good and quite easy. I would definitely recommend it. the bf isn't a fan of cumin and thought the taste might have been a little strong, but he still liked it. I didn't mind it. We both though it seemed like it might be missing a little something (hence the 4 stars), but again, it was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe--a wonderful and most nutritious "comfort food." My two little boys enjoyed it, also, with a sprinkling of grated cheddar (to offset the heat a bit). Thanks for a great recipe, salt&light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Delicious, especially served with sour cream, cheese, and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westover, Maryland, USA
Living In: Green Lane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
The flavor on this was amazing! Made a few minor changes with one batch, but this is fantastic as written. Completely left out the cayenne pepper as there are some sensetive tongues in my household and went with diced tomatoes rather than stewed as it's what we had on hand. Ended up cooking for about 9 hours total. Sweet potatoes were very tender and the whole meal was very hearty and great for a cold fall evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This recipe is one awesomely delicious soup. I didn't follow the recipe to a t, as I eyeballed the spices, drastically increasing the amount of both cumin and chili powder (1t and 1T, respectively is not enough even if I hadn't doubled the recipe) in addition to the meat (2 lbs.) and tomatoes (3 cans). The addition of the sweet potatoes made it extremely filling, limited my serving to just one bowl rather than the one and a half I'll usually have of chili/soup at dinner time. The cinnamon, while present, didn't overwhelm like I was worried about while preparing it. The celery also added a nice textural element to it as well. I will be making this again. Guaranteed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States