Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was great! I got a late start do I only cooked on high for two hours then added the meats, corn, and beans and cooked an additional 2 hours. I accidentally put in a whole teaspoon of cinnamon but it was still great. I also used a whole pound of organic, grass fed beef and 1/2 lb turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrine York

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made as written..excellent and very different!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Soooo goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by femm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I made this for dinner today. Only saw the recipe at 4PM which was too late for the crockpot, so I browned the meat first then added it to the other ingredients in a stock pot, brought up to a boil then simmered for 45 min. The potatoes were very tender. The whole meal was delicious. I'm not a fan of sweet potatoes outside of a pie, but this was a great use of my extra potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is a wonderful, easy recipe -- made no changes and it came out great, though the sweet potatoes can get a little mushy (fine by me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was a great recipe! I added in black eyed peas for additional bulk and less on the turkey/beef. I just added everything in and set on low for 8 hours - came out perfect. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
LOVE it! Easy to put together. Spicy and sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Tcherneshoff Deuel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I love sweet potatoes and chilli but had never had a sweet potato chilli before. It was very good. Need a soup for a luncheon Sunday at church and I am planning on making more of this chilli. Try it... it is VERY good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
UPDATE: I won 3rd place in a friends and family chili cook off with this one! Thank you to salt&light for posting this fabulous recipe. I have made it an unofficial rule (very strong advice, lol) that this be eaten with fat free Greek yogurt mixed in! It gives it a hearty creaminess that is guilt-free! Yum!!! This chili is so friggin' awesome! It's mostly like a "normal" chili, but the sweet potatoes and touch of cinnamon give it a little nudge into something magically perfect for Autumn. I didn't bother with stewed, chili-seasoned tomatoes, I just used regular old canned diced tomatoes and increased the seasonings (except cinnamon) a little. No problem. Used chicken broth instead of water. Also only cooked on high 3 hours before adding the meat. First time I made it, I used all beef. I have my second batch cooking now, using 3/4 turkey, 1/4 beef (what I have on-hand) and I quadrupled the recipe using 2 crock pots, because I am entering this recipe in a chili cook-off my friend is hosting on Sunday. I will come back with an update soon! I served this with fat free Greek yogurt (sour cream is a thing of the past- I can use ALL the Greek yogurt I want, with NO guilt! It tastes the same, try it!!) chopped scallions, oyster crackers, and shredded cheddar cheese. My husband and I thought we'd died and gone to heaven. We looked forward to eating the leftovers every day, 2 meals a day, for 3 days. I can't say enough good things about this. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
that was really good. we feel it was missing something, some kind of spice/seasoning, couldn't put our fingers on it, but it was still good. even my 11 year old who turned his nose up at it at first said i should enter it into a chili contest....guess he liked it after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Julie's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a sweet and savory sweet potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States