Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was a great recipe! I added in black eyed peas for additional bulk and less on the turkey/beef. I just added everything in and set on low for 8 hours - came out perfect. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
LOVE it! Easy to put together. Spicy and sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazy for oats

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I love sweet potatoes and chilli but had never had a sweet potato chilli before. It was very good. Need a soup for a luncheon Sunday at church and I am planning on making more of this chilli. Try it... it is VERY good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
UPDATE: I won 3rd place in a friends and family chili cook off with this one! Thank you to salt&light for posting this fabulous recipe. I have made it an unofficial rule (very strong advice, lol) that this be eaten with fat free Greek yogurt mixed in! It gives it a hearty creaminess that is guilt-free! Yum!!! This chili is so friggin' awesome! It's mostly like a "normal" chili, but the sweet potatoes and touch of cinnamon give it a little nudge into something magically perfect for Autumn. I didn't bother with stewed, chili-seasoned tomatoes, I just used regular old canned diced tomatoes and increased the seasonings (except cinnamon) a little. No problem. Used chicken broth instead of water. Also only cooked on high 3 hours before adding the meat. First time I made it, I used all beef. I have my second batch cooking now, using 3/4 turkey, 1/4 beef (what I have on-hand) and I quadrupled the recipe using 2 crock pots, because I am entering this recipe in a chili cook-off my friend is hosting on Sunday. I will come back with an update soon! I served this with fat free Greek yogurt (sour cream is a thing of the past- I can use ALL the Greek yogurt I want, with NO guilt! It tastes the same, try it!!) chopped scallions, oyster crackers, and shredded cheddar cheese. My husband and I thought we'd died and gone to heaven. We looked forward to eating the leftovers every day, 2 meals a day, for 3 days. I can't say enough good things about this. Try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
that was really good. we feel it was missing something, some kind of spice/seasoning, couldn't put our fingers on it, but it was still good. even my 11 year old who turned his nose up at it at first said i should enter it into a chili contest....guess he liked it after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
It was great, the family loved it!!! I did not add the celery (did not have any) but added a little celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I liked it. My husband ate it. Nobody went back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I used all ground turkey for this recipe and thought it turned out great (albeit, a bit drier). Really hearty and robust meal, and the sweet potato is a nice twist. I didn't cook for as long as the recipe indicated - maybe half an hour on the stove for the vegetables and spices, and then an hour once I added the meat. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Nice having a chili that differs from the traditional chili. Pleasantly surprised how good the sweet potatoes tasted and gave a wonderfully flavored chili. As a side note, I used dry beans after soaking overnight and put them in the beginning. Didn't work well, they didn't cook all the way through. I will only use canned blk beans for now on. I only used gr beef and cooked till most of pink gone and then added at the beginning, was fine this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States