Sweet Potato Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I added an extra can of beans. This was great and made a lot of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This was a big win! However, just a little bland. So, we made just a couple of mods... 1- I added diced bell peppers(orange and yellow), 2- we added half a stick of butter and 3 table spoons of Light Brown sugar(to give it a sweet and savory touch), 3- we didn't have 6 hours so we boiled the sweet potatoes for fifteen minutes, browned the meat, and cooked EVERYTHING in a roasting pan (well covered) for just 3 hours. Stirred every 20 minutes to half hour to ensure everything was properly breaking down into a sauce. It turned out fantastic. I should also note we decided to skip the beef and only used Turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gmoney
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Loved it! We were a bit skeptical about putting sweet potatoes in chili, but it was just the right amount of sweetness. Not overpowering at all! After reading other reviews, I didn't add water and cut back a little on the cinnamon. We also left out the cayenne (but added it in the adult bowls individually). I added some green bell pepper but totally forgot about the corn! Next time, I'll definitely add it. We had ours with sour cream, but could have passed without. Next time, I might add another kind of bean as well as topping with cheese. I also won't forget the corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gmoney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I make this often, it is wonderful and very interesting. A very welcome change. P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Very good, added 1 1/2 of chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Made with 1 lb ground beef and cooked on the stove top by browning the beef with the sweet potatos, onion, celery and one clove of crushed garlic, drained the grease, added the spices and let them heat up, then added turkey stock in place of water along with the tomatos and beans. Added the corn after it had simmered for about an hour, then simmered for another hour, taking the lid off for the last 30 mins. EXCELLENT chili and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This was so different and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and it didn't really need any changes. I usually top my chili with sour cream and cheese, but this one tasted weird with the sour cream, so I just top it with cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was awesome. Substituted veggie "ground beef" as I am a vegetarian and still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Chavez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
DELICIOUS!!! Cinnamon in chili, never would have thought!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States