Sweet Potato Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Loved it. Changed a few things. no wine, fresh garlic, chick stock or cream. used garlic powder, salt and pepper when browning chicken, 1 can cream chicken soup and 1 can veggie broth. everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Majewski Mazzuca
Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I was looking for a chicken casserole with something other than broccoli and cheese in it- boy, did I find it - this is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
My family raves about this recipe. Incredible flavour. Some might find it more stew like but the flavour I don't mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This was very good. Alot of prep work though.I spent alot of time dicing into small pieces, but could have stopped at just chopping. I would call it a stew rather than a casserole. It comes out very thick and is ideal with buttermilk biscuits. I'm going to try this in my slow cooker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I did tweak this recipe a bit - I left the wine completely out. I also didn't add any of the cream for the sake of keeping it lower fat and more casserole like than stew like. After putting everything into the baking dish I sprinkled a very generous amount of cinnamon and nutmeg on the top, stirred it a bit, then covered it and put it in the oven at the recommended temp and rec. time. It was FABULOUS!!! My kids who HATE sweet potatoes LOVED this dish!!! A definite keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
We have made this twice now and love it. Instead of the carrots we used turnips that last time. My husband cant stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I prepared 2 servings. Left out the cream and white wine. I added one diced apple and 2 more carrots. I also increased the garlic to 2 cloves and it wasn't a bit overpowering. As other reviewers did, I added some spices - generous shake of pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg). By leaving out some of the liquid ingredients, I ended up with just a little nice sauce at the bottom. Adding the apple really mellows the taste of the chicken broth. We ate it all on its own; no rice or bread. Great fall recipe. My husband and I really loved it! With extra veggies & fruit and without the cream, it feels healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
My grandma loves this casserole. I add extra garlic and throw in some curry, and she likes it because the flavors are strong enough for her to taste. I save time by using frozen sweet potato fries instead of an actual sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I give this 5 stars, but it must be noted that I made a lot of adjustments according to the suggestions: I added 1 Tbs ginger with the garlic and onions and also used a Moroccan spice when cooking the chicken to add some flavor to the dish...I also added chopped pumpkin with the carrot and sweet potato because I needed to use it up! Since everyone talked about how watery this dish was I cut back the liquid to one cup and about 3/4 cup wine plus I put in 3/4 cup uncooked rice to help soak up the fluid and to make it more of a casserole. About 30 min. into the cooking it was getting quite dry so I added in another 3/4 cup liquid salt/pepper and let it cook for another 15 min. This was beautiful!! My only comment for next time is that I will try and use a dryer wine. I only had a Sav so that's what I used, but I think it made it a bit more sweet....Overall a great dish and something different!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
My family really enjoyed this meal. I cooked it as instructed and it came out perfect but was more like a stew than a casserole. Some buns or garlic bread on the side is all this meal needed, easy and simple to make... I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States