Sweet Potato Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I did tweak this recipe a bit - I left the wine completely out. I also didn't add any of the cream for the sake of keeping it lower fat and more casserole like than stew like. After putting everything into the baking dish I sprinkled a very generous amount of cinnamon and nutmeg on the top, stirred it a bit, then covered it and put it in the oven at the recommended temp and rec. time. It was FABULOUS!!! My kids who HATE sweet potatoes LOVED this dish!!! A definite keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I prepared 2 servings. Left out the cream and white wine. I added one diced apple and 2 more carrots. I also increased the garlic to 2 cloves and it wasn't a bit overpowering. As other reviewers did, I added some spices - generous shake of pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg). By leaving out some of the liquid ingredients, I ended up with just a little nice sauce at the bottom. Adding the apple really mellows the taste of the chicken broth. We ate it all on its own; no rice or bread. Great fall recipe. My husband and I really loved it! With extra veggies & fruit and without the cream, it feels healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly, but it ended up like stew. It was ok, but it didn't have very much flavor. It was better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I was looking for a chicken casserole with something other than broccoli and cheese in it- boy, did I find it - this is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This was terrible. My husband wouldn't even touch it and put a frozen pizza in the oven. As another said, it was a stew not a casserole. It was a featured recipe in the Acme Markets circular. I'm going to complain to Acme since I doubt they tested it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I decided to consider this recipe a stew, rather than a casserole. I made the whole thing on the top of the stove and served it over rice. My husband and I both thought it was very good, with an interesting and unusual combination of flavors, and we would not object to having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Yuk. The wine really stood out and there really wasn't that much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I give this 5 stars, but it must be noted that I made a lot of adjustments according to the suggestions: I added 1 Tbs ginger with the garlic and onions and also used a Moroccan spice when cooking the chicken to add some flavor to the dish...I also added chopped pumpkin with the carrot and sweet potato because I needed to use it up! Since everyone talked about how watery this dish was I cut back the liquid to one cup and about 3/4 cup wine plus I put in 3/4 cup uncooked rice to help soak up the fluid and to make it more of a casserole. About 30 min. into the cooking it was getting quite dry so I added in another 3/4 cup liquid salt/pepper and let it cook for another 15 min. This was beautiful!! My only comment for next time is that I will try and use a dryer wine. I only had a Sav so that's what I used, but I think it made it a bit more sweet....Overall a great dish and something different!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This was very good. Alot of prep work though.I spent alot of time dicing into small pieces, but could have stopped at just chopping. I would call it a stew rather than a casserole. It comes out very thick and is ideal with buttermilk biscuits. I'm going to try this in my slow cooker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BJSERINK
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
All I could really taste is the chicken stock. I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States