Sweet Potato Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I enjoyed the combination of the chicken and the sweet potatos in the dish. I added four egg whites to hold the ingredients together. I'm glad I tried your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I adjusted the recipe due to not having all the ingredients. So I used a dash of wine and no cream. I added a sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon but wouldnt do that next time. I used a red onion and a baby capsicum and four cloves of garlic. I also added a quater teaspoon curry powder. We ate it on top of brown rice. It was nice and full of flavour. I cooked it on the stove top and by the end it was thick and almost mushy but the vegies still held their shape. Would be great without the cream but with bacon added right from the start. And eaten with lovely fresh cooked beans would be nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Loved it. Changed a few things. no wine, fresh garlic, chick stock or cream. used garlic powder, salt and pepper when browning chicken, 1 can cream chicken soup and 1 can veggie broth. everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Majewski Mazzuca
Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was very bland. It seemed like a good start to something...I am not sure what I would add to make it better. We ate it, but I will not make it again. Too bad - it was a great idea since my family loves sweet potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by korynball

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I decided to consider this recipe a stew, rather than a casserole. I made the whole thing on the top of the stove and served it over rice. My husband and I both thought it was very good, with an interesting and unusual combination of flavors, and we would not object to having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I made this recipe, but modified it quite a bit. I didn't want a stew, so I only used 3/4 a cup of chicken broth and about 1T of wine. I used a splash of milk at the end to make it a little more wet. Also, my chicken was already cooked so I only cooked for about 30 mins. I didn't use carrots as someone else suggested and the herbs I used were fresh sage (because I had some) and some dried parsely. I like it, but it wasn't much like the original. Oh, also I used some stuffing mix/bread crumbs for topping. Tasty stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I did tweak this recipe a bit - I left the wine completely out. I also didn't add any of the cream for the sake of keeping it lower fat and more casserole like than stew like. After putting everything into the baking dish I sprinkled a very generous amount of cinnamon and nutmeg on the top, stirred it a bit, then covered it and put it in the oven at the recommended temp and rec. time. It was FABULOUS!!! My kids who HATE sweet potatoes LOVED this dish!!! A definite keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I made this with a few changes. Add minced ginger and a shake of cinnamon in the onions while they are sauting. Leave out the wine and carrots and serve over brown rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Not sure what I did wrong, but this was awful! I took one taste and ended up throwing it out. The consistency wasn't a problem - the flavor was terrible. No idea how to 'fix' this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This was very good. Alot of prep work though.I spent alot of time dicing into small pieces, but could have stopped at just chopping. I would call it a stew rather than a casserole. It comes out very thick and is ideal with buttermilk biscuits. I'm going to try this in my slow cooker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States