Sweet Potato Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I followed other reviewers' advice and cut down on the liquid for a thicker casserole and added cinnamon and nutmeg before popping it in the oven. (I had splurged on some Vietnamese cinnamon from King Arthur flour over the holidays, and the rich smell was out of this world as it simmered in the pot.) I only had two chicken breasts on hand, so I halved the recipe and used 2/3 cup chicken broth as the only liquid. Half an hour in the oven was plenty. Very tasty and fragrant. Will definitely make this again, and add fresh homebaked bread with butter and a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Followed directions exactly and everyone thought it was delicious. I thought it might be dull with no herbs or spices but the wine and carrots gave it some great flavor. Also, I'd cook it for less time or make my diced vegetables larger. Mine were about 1/2" and they were a little mushy. Excellent low-fat, high fiber meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamflynow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I enjoyed the combination of the chicken and the sweet potatos in the dish. I added four egg whites to hold the ingredients together. I'm glad I tried your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I adjusted the recipe due to not having all the ingredients. So I used a dash of wine and no cream. I added a sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon but wouldnt do that next time. I used a red onion and a baby capsicum and four cloves of garlic. I also added a quater teaspoon curry powder. We ate it on top of brown rice. It was nice and full of flavour. I cooked it on the stove top and by the end it was thick and almost mushy but the vegies still held their shape. Would be great without the cream but with bacon added right from the start. And eaten with lovely fresh cooked beans would be nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Loved it. Changed a few things. no wine, fresh garlic, chick stock or cream. used garlic powder, salt and pepper when browning chicken, 1 can cream chicken soup and 1 can veggie broth. everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Majewski Mazzuca
Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This was very bland. It seemed like a good start to something...I am not sure what I would add to make it better. We ate it, but I will not make it again. Too bad - it was a great idea since my family loves sweet potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by korynball

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
After reading the other reviews, I decided to consider this recipe a stew, rather than a casserole. I made the whole thing on the top of the stove and served it over rice. My husband and I both thought it was very good, with an interesting and unusual combination of flavors, and we would not object to having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I made this recipe, but modified it quite a bit. I didn't want a stew, so I only used 3/4 a cup of chicken broth and about 1T of wine. I used a splash of milk at the end to make it a little more wet. Also, my chicken was already cooked so I only cooked for about 30 mins. I didn't use carrots as someone else suggested and the herbs I used were fresh sage (because I had some) and some dried parsely. I like it, but it wasn't much like the original. Oh, also I used some stuffing mix/bread crumbs for topping. Tasty stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I did tweak this recipe a bit - I left the wine completely out. I also didn't add any of the cream for the sake of keeping it lower fat and more casserole like than stew like. After putting everything into the baking dish I sprinkled a very generous amount of cinnamon and nutmeg on the top, stirred it a bit, then covered it and put it in the oven at the recommended temp and rec. time. It was FABULOUS!!! My kids who HATE sweet potatoes LOVED this dish!!! A definite keeper in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I made this with a few changes. Add minced ginger and a shake of cinnamon in the onions while they are sauting. Leave out the wine and carrots and serve over brown rice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stinabina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States