Sweet Potato Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I modified this one as well ... As with some of the others, I did not add wine. I did top the casserole with nutmeg and cinnamon which added a nice flavor. And, I also added quinoa for a little extra nutrition and bulk to the meal (It made a LOT! My husband and I have plenty of leftovers, yum!) I would make this again but would add more broth (especially if using rice/quinoa) and I would add a little salt for flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This was nice but I adjusted the recipe a little. I actually used turkey instead of chicken as thats what I had in. I was worried about comments of there being no flavour so added celery, a bit of medium curry powder and chopped up a piece of stem ginger (in syrup)and I used a granulated chicken flavour bouillon from the chinese supermarket (not sure how much this differs from chicken stock and I think I probably added more than I should have...as I can't read chinese lol) oh and added some rice too. Left out the wine. Me and my 4 and 1 year old loved it, the sweet potato kinda turned it a bit mushy but the flavour was nice. Served it with broccoli. Would make again x p.s. I don't think there is much difference between a casserole and a stew lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Simple and delicious. Didn't have any wine so I splashed a little mirin on there and added some garam masala for flavor and skipped the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Omitted wine and cream to simplify. I added fresh ginger to the onion & garlic, used only carrots for the veg, seasoned chicken with garam marsala, served over mashed potato and it was really good. Tured out to be a tasty, quick and easy chicken dish. Could also include some stewed tomatoes and add some chick peas to make it more like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klml

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I have made this many times. Serve with jasmine rice and French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Family did not care for do not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This probably took closer to an hour to prepare, and then an hour in the oven. There is a lot to chop up. I did an another reviewer suggested and did not add the wine or the heavy cream to keep it low-cal. I like the over all result. I did not add any seasoning but I did sprinkle some cheese over the final product to make it seem more appealing. It kind of looks like orange mush when you take it out of the oven. I will be eating this for the rest of the week and I enjoy it but its not something I would cook for others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I liked this recipe enough that I will make it again. I added Bouquet Garni, salt/pepper, and a dash of cinnamon. I only baked it for 25 minutes (...or the sweets would have become mush).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
As several people here, I added nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger and did not use wine and cream. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is an excellent recipe! I also left out the wine and cream and only used 2 chicken breasts, and added a diced apple and an extra carrot as someone recommended in comments. It only needed to bake for 30 minutes and made a nice stew. I served it with hot steamed white rice scooped on top of the bowl of stew. Very simple and delicious - I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States