Sweet Potato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This is the ultimate cheesecake. I love cheesecake, sweet potato pie and pecan pie so this is heaven to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was a great starter recipe. I did add some cinnamon, nutmeg, and a pinch of allspice to the puree. I also omitted the pecans from the topping. The recipe did not call for a waterbath but I used one anyway. Before I added the eggs, I tasted the mix and decided I needed a bit more sweet potato because the flavor was a bit weak. I ended up putting about a third of a cup more potato puree. This for Christmas dessert and it was a huge hit. My first ever cheesecake was a definite success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This recipe was the bomb! just awesome.. came out nice and high and the topping was perfect, just the right amount and it wasnt too runny either. I have tried many other cheesecake recipes and this is definately an all time favorite! my family fought over the last piece
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This cake was a hit with my family. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I wanted to make something to really dazzle my family on Thanksgiving and this recipes was just the thing. I added finely chopped pecans to the crust for a bit more taste. The topping was the most essential component though, it looked amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
With a few modifications, this was an excellent cheesecake! I added some flavor(nutmeg, cinnamon, and allspice) to the sweet potato puree, as if I were making a sweet potato pie. I also cooked this in a waterbath, which added to the silky texture. And finally, I added a bit of cinnamon to the topping, which was the perfect touch! Great recipe for those who love sweet potato pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
I made this cake about a year ago and I got great reviews for it!!! People just didn't belive that it was my FIRST attempt at making cheesecakes!!! Go ahead, try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I made this for thanksgiving and it was a big hit. I added butter, cinnamon, and nutmeg to the sweet potato puree, which seemed to work out well. I also only used 1/2 cup of pecans in the topping (that's all I had), but it still tasted great. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This was my first attempt at making a cheesecake. The recipe was simple to follow and the results were fantastic. I didn't add anything not in the original recipe but I may try that in the future. I took it to a holiday party and it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Hicks
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Made it for an open house!!!! Everyone Loved it!!!! Not just for the holidays!!! Would make again anytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States