Sweet Potato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2000
I made this cake about a year ago and I got great reviews for it!!! People just didn't belive that it was my FIRST attempt at making cheesecakes!!! Go ahead, try it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
This cake was great. The texture is perfect. The taste of the sweet potato was too subtle, however, and could use a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
With a few modifications, this was an excellent cheesecake! I added some flavor(nutmeg, cinnamon, and allspice) to the sweet potato puree, as if I were making a sweet potato pie. I also cooked this in a waterbath, which added to the silky texture. And finally, I added a bit of cinnamon to the topping, which was the perfect touch! Great recipe for those who love sweet potato pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This is the ultimate cheesecake. I love cheesecake, sweet potato pie and pecan pie so this is heaven to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
You can't fail with this receipe. I am a novice cook and the cake was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Tried this because it sounded interesting. Loved the flavor and made it as directed with the exception of adding cinnamon and nutmeg. Really, really good! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I thought this recipe was great. I just made a few modifications. I treated the sweet potato puree like the filling for a pie. I added cinnamon, a squeeze of lemon, a drop of vanilla extract, and a tablespoon or two of butter (sinful I know). I made if for Thanksgiving (with the topping) and Christmas (without the topping) and the family loved them both. I think this will be a new holiday favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONALYSEE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
I made this for thanksgiving and it was a big hit. I added butter, cinnamon, and nutmeg to the sweet potato puree, which seemed to work out well. I also only used 1/2 cup of pecans in the topping (that's all I had), but it still tasted great. Thanks for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
This is a great recipe! I've made it for Thanksgiving 2yrs running and have gotten nothing but praise for it. I do agree the sweet potato taste is very subtle as written, so next time I'll use the suggestions of the other reviewers. Overall, it's still a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A72CUTLAS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This was my first attempt at making a cheesecake. The recipe was simple to follow and the results were fantastic. I didn't add anything not in the original recipe but I may try that in the future. I took it to a holiday party and it was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States