Sweet Potato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My neice (she's 5) and I made this for Thanksgiving and she loved it. And so did everyone else. It was very easy to create and had a wonderful taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Deevah Socialite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the kcross
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is/was my first attempt at making cheescake and I absolutely LOVE it and so do my children...I am a little new at the baking thing so I would have liked to know how long to cook the brown sugar/butter concoction for the topping! Im a lil challenged! LOL There is so much to be thankful for at Thanksgiving, this cheesecake reminds me of that. Thanks for this recipe thanks cutie pie for the tips on what to add to really jazz it up. I'm not a fan of nutmeg or ginger with sweet potatoes so I omitted that but I did use nutmeg for the crust in the mini cheesecake cupcakes I made with the extra filing I had for the kids...I'm sure it'll be a hit my children love it including my 11 month old. Happy Thanksgiving, Allrecipers ; )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the kcross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
This was the first attempt at making a cheesecake. I must say that it turned out really well. I did follow some of the other reviews and added cinnamon, nutmeg. It tasted just like a sweet potato pie. My husband loved it. Will definitely make again. Okay. This cheesecake could use a lil bit more sugar maybe 2 cups of sugar. And it doesn't have to bake for an hr. maybe about 50 mins. Please remove it from the oven when cooking, because the crust gets really dark. Thank God it didn't burn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This cheesecake was AWESOME! My boyfriend is in love with the sweet potatoe cheesecake we get here at Glady's Knight Chicken & Waffles Restaurant. He asked me to try and duplicate it, well this one came out better, sorry Glady's! I did add a few ingredients to enhance the flavors. 1/2 c chopped pecans and 1/2 tea cinnamon to crust. I also added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tea cinnamon, 1/4 tea nutmeg, 1/4 tea ginger and 2 tea vanilla to filling. I used 2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes (definately bake the potatoes adds flavor). Don't over beat the filling and put a shallow pan of water on the rack below the cake for a flawless cheesecake w/o cracks every time. Baked 1hr 10 mins in 9" pan, removed from oven immediately when center was almost set. This cake is super rich and delicious, absolutely worth the effort. If you love cheesecake and sweet potatoe pie, you'll love this cake. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutie Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was a very good cheesecake! I only made one change, I seasoned the sweet potato puree with about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and nutmeg. It is very rich, as most baked cheesecakes tend to be. This makes a very large, deep cheesecake. The topping is a necessity in my opinion, it really complements the flavor of the cake. I cooked three medium sweet potatoes, and had plenty of puree. I will probably make this again during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was very good. I made my crust with ginger snap crumbs...definitely a keeper! I've made this with spices added, and without...and I actually prefer it WITHOUT. With the ginger snap crust, and a dash or two of cinnamon in the caramel topping (I totally cheated with some Kraft caramels and heavy cream), it's perfect! I preferred a little more sweet potato. Do not over-beat the filled. Make sure the cream cheese and sweet potato are well blended first before pumping too much air into the other ingredients (for a smoother texture, and no cracks on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPOOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I found this recipe for my husband to try and it turned out great. He added nutmeg and allspice like he was baking a sweet potato pie and he used only two packages of cream cheese instead of three. You can also buy a deep dish graham cracker crust if you want to skip a step. It's just as good as making your own from scratch. During baking, he sat the cheesecake in a shallow water bath to retain moisture. This cheese cake was great. It was not too rich and not over powering in taste. The praline topping really set it off. A good, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by one~sand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe made a very delicious basic cheesecake that filled up the entire springform pan. Would definitely make again. Things I did differently: Baked sweet potatoes in microwave, scooped out flesh and whipped them with a hand mixer - came out nice and smooth. Added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a splash of molasses to the filling. I'd argue heavy cream doesn't do much for the texture, and it would be okay if you omitted it. I did not make the praline topping, as the cake is already super rich, but did serve it with a homemade eggnog flavored whipped cream. Nice, reliable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very good. Perfect balance between sweet potato pie and cheesecake. Great texture. I put a large pan of boiling water on the bottom oven rack for all my cheesecakes. Really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe was a hit for Thanksgiving. My family was so negative when told about the cheesecake that I had brought. They hadn't heard of this kind before. Once it was served, all chattering stopped! My grandmother "THE COOK" in the family asked me for the recipe. Only thing I added was a little nutmeg and cinnamon. Thanks for shutting up my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States