Sweet Potato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This cheesecake was AWESOME! My boyfriend is in love with the sweet potatoe cheesecake we get here at Glady's Knight Chicken & Waffles Restaurant. He asked me to try and duplicate it, well this one came out better, sorry Glady's! I did add a few ingredients to enhance the flavors. 1/2 c chopped pecans and 1/2 tea cinnamon to crust. I also added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tea cinnamon, 1/4 tea nutmeg, 1/4 tea ginger and 2 tea vanilla to filling. I used 2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes (definately bake the potatoes adds flavor). Don't over beat the filling and put a shallow pan of water on the rack below the cake for a flawless cheesecake w/o cracks every time. Baked 1hr 10 mins in 9" pan, removed from oven immediately when center was almost set. This cake is super rich and delicious, absolutely worth the effort. If you love cheesecake and sweet potatoe pie, you'll love this cake. Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cutie Pie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
This was a very good cheesecake! I only made one change, I seasoned the sweet potato puree with about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon and nutmeg. It is very rich, as most baked cheesecakes tend to be. This makes a very large, deep cheesecake. The topping is a necessity in my opinion, it really complements the flavor of the cake. I cooked three medium sweet potatoes, and had plenty of puree. I will probably make this again during the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was very good. I made my crust with ginger snap crumbs...definitely a keeper! I've made this with spices added, and without...and I actually prefer it WITHOUT. With the ginger snap crust, and a dash or two of cinnamon in the caramel topping (I totally cheated with some Kraft caramels and heavy cream), it's perfect! I preferred a little more sweet potato. Do not over-beat the filled. Make sure the cream cheese and sweet potato are well blended first before pumping too much air into the other ingredients (for a smoother texture, and no cracks on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPOOKIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I found this recipe for my husband to try and it turned out great. He added nutmeg and allspice like he was baking a sweet potato pie and he used only two packages of cream cheese instead of three. You can also buy a deep dish graham cracker crust if you want to skip a step. It's just as good as making your own from scratch. During baking, he sat the cheesecake in a shallow water bath to retain moisture. This cheese cake was great. It was not too rich and not over powering in taste. The praline topping really set it off. A good, good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by one~sand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This recipe made a very delicious basic cheesecake that filled up the entire springform pan. Would definitely make again. Things I did differently: Baked sweet potatoes in microwave, scooped out flesh and whipped them with a hand mixer - came out nice and smooth. Added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a splash of molasses to the filling. I'd argue heavy cream doesn't do much for the texture, and it would be okay if you omitted it. I did not make the praline topping, as the cake is already super rich, but did serve it with a homemade eggnog flavored whipped cream. Nice, reliable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Very good. Perfect balance between sweet potato pie and cheesecake. Great texture. I put a large pan of boiling water on the bottom oven rack for all my cheesecakes. Really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This recipe was a hit for Thanksgiving. My family was so negative when told about the cheesecake that I had brought. They hadn't heard of this kind before. Once it was served, all chattering stopped! My grandmother "THE COOK" in the family asked me for the recipe. Only thing I added was a little nutmeg and cinnamon. Thanks for shutting up my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NICEGIRL512
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This is a great twist on a traditional Thanksgiving dessert. I made several changes, starting with a gingersnap crust rather than a graham cracker crust. I whirred commercial gingersnaps in the blender and then sieved them through a flour sifter. I added 1/4 c butter as recommended for the graham crust, but no sugar. In the filling I used 2 packages 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I made yogurt cheese by draining a nonfat thick Greek style yogurt for 24 hours and subbed that in for the third package of cream cheese to reduce the fat even more. It still had a great taste and texture; I didn't really notice any difference. As others suggested I added pumpkin pie type spices (vanilla, cloves, allspice, nutmeg, and cinnamon). I tried reducing the sugar, but this is one recipe that is not overly sweetened and I ended up using the full amount. I mixed all filling ingredients except for the sweet potatoes and reserved some plain filling. I used this plain filling on the top to create marbling (it didn't work great because of the thickness of the filling, but it still looked good). I made the praline topping, cooking it to 180 degrees F on my candy thermometer and served it warm on the side, rather than pouring over the top. I baked in a water bath; it finished in about an hour and 10 minutes. I used a 10 inch springform, but next time I will use a 7 inch because it's only about an inch and half thick and I like a loftier cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This was a nice experiment but I don't think I will make it again. Most of my guests thought it was good but some ate it and didn't want to touch a second bite! And I don't think people would have eaten it without the pecan topping (which is amazing, btw)... Taste and texture are okay but this makes avery heavy dessert. Not everybody is ready for that kind of cheesecake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I prepared this recipe exactly as stated in the ingredients and it looks just like the picture on the recipe page! I was pleasantly surprised that it does not have a "veggie" taste, just a great cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States