Sweet Potato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My family loved this pie made it for thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
OMG!!! I had never even heard of this recipe before but I couldn't get enough. It is so unbelievably good. I did add a touch more sugar(maybe a 1/4 cup) and I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and a few pats of butter to the sweet potato mixture. I baked the potatoes but I don't see why boiling them wouldn't work either. I also used just a regular store bought graham cracker crust just to save time and it was still crunchy and delicious with the cheesecake. You must try this recipe because it is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Will

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I've received RAVE reviews for this recipe. I made this into cupcakes for my daughter's birthday party, and people are still talking about them. My only suggestion would be to bake the graham cracker crust for only 5 minutes (instead of 10 min) to avoid burning or overbrowning the crust when you cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Vandenberg Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by judikay1962
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving this year (2011) and it was a HUGE hit!! I had run out of pecans, so had to substitute crushed walnuts, but it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judikay1962
Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
While the cheesecake was very good, the sweet potato flavor was way too weak for me, and I put in the full 2 pounds. Next time, I will decrease cream cheese to 2 pkgs to hopefully get a stronger flavor. I also added 2 tsp cinnamon, a must need. The caramel topping is excellent, although it also does cover up the sweet potato flavor. I didn't bother leaving it in the oven for an hour after cooking. I cooked it like my favorite cheesecake recipe - I added 2 tbsp cornstarch to the sugar (mix so not lumpy) and cooked at 325 for 1 hour 10 minutes, then cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lea M.
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I am a cheesecake purist, I love the taste of plain cheesecake, so the feature picture shown for this sweet potato cheesecake is misleading. It shows what looks like a marbled type cheesecake the kind a purist like me would like, pure cheesecake with small swirls of sweet potato, not the full on blended kind like this recipe suggests. As I started to create my cake I realized that there was no way I was going to combine the delicious delicate flavor of cream cheese with the heavy, fleshy sweet potato. So what I did was strain the sweet potato through a strainer (kept the fleshy part for pie) and took the smooth sweet potato, added cinnamon, nutmeg, and white sugar, all to taste, and smoothed it at the bottom of the pan over the crust THEN I put the creamy layer of cream cheese over that (omitted the pecan topping concoction) baked it in a water bath and it came out PERFECT! The best of both worlds without mixing them up. My 4 star rating is for misleading picture and mixing sweet potato with creamcheese. But TOTALLY 5 stars for the cheesecake recipe itself!!! AND, taking a tip from another commenter, rather than using graham cracker crust, next time I will try a biscotti crust. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
my first REAL cheesecake (not a "no bake")... and this thing looked, smelled, and tasted beautiful. i'd make the topping to put on ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christianna Colbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
spectacular - after eating at Gladys Knight's and trying her version, I had to make my own. LOVE Cutie Pie's moderations - thanks so much - this is a hit! And, it is even better than Gladys's (if that can be possible!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe is so wonderful! I made it last year for Thanksgiving and it was such a hit, my family has requested it again this year! I did make a couple changes, but they were small. I used crushed ginger snaps for the crust rather than graham cracker crumbs. For ease, I used jars of sweet potato baby food and added a little cinnamon, vanilla extract and ground ginger to the puree. Also, 15min before the cake was finished baking, I added a layer of sour cream and sugar mix to the top like a sort of frosting, then I swirled in caramel sauce so it had a marbled look. I placed the pecans around the edges and in the center decoratively and then finished baking. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Like other viewers, I added cinnamon and nutmeg to give more flavor. I also used cinnamon graham crackers for the pie crust. Absolutely love the glazed pecans! This is what makes the cheesecake and can be used to top off other pies, which I intend to do with just a plain sweet potato pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States