Sweet Potato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I agree with the above reviews in that the recipe is good, but leaves it wide open for variation. Spicing it up is always a good idea. My selections were lemon zest, cinnamon, ground ginger (just a pinch). I would add nutmeg if I had any. I think ground cardamom would work nicely in the crust to make it extra festive. I should try that next time. And there will be next time, I am sure. Baked for about 55 minutes over a water filled roasting pan. No issues, no cracks. As for the topping, I had to improvise because this cake goes to a school Thanksgiving feast, and they forbid nuts of any kind. I used 2 packages of fresh cranberries, sugar, 1 lemon juice, cooked them all together, and added a bit of butter and cream in the end to make it look silkier and not like jam. Great post, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crainny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Delores
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I have made this twice and they came out great. I will be making this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Chef Kay
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I like this recipe, it is a large portion so i cut it in half and im Allergic to nut so thats why there is no pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Kay

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Excellent cheesecake! For the crust, I used a combination of graham crackers and vanilla wafers and did not add any additional sugar. Instead, I added a little cinnamon. I used a full cup of sugar in the batter and, like many other members, I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger. I've never made sweet potato anything without these seasonings. To me, it would have been bland without them. I was afraid the pecan topping was going to make the cheesecake too sweet but it was perfect. This recipe goes into my permenant files.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Excellent!!! I made this for both Thanksgiving and Christmas and it was a hit! I did add pumpkin spice to the sweet potatoes and cinnamon in the topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ofmydesire

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This turned out to be one of the best cheesecakes I have ever made. Thank you MARBALET for submitting this one! I will certainly be making this cheesecake again and again and again and.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I cheated as well and used 2 pre made crust, that way I could have one cheesecake with the topping and one without for my friends who dont like/allergic to nuts. I also used 1 pack of reduced fat cream cheese and reduced fat sour cream as well as seasoned the sweet potatoes with vanilla, cinn & nutmeg..with all these modifications the pies were a hit! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe was cut in half and poured into a store bought gramcracker pie shell. Gingerbread coffee mate creamer was substituted for the heavy cream. The sweet potatoe was a faint back note. More could be added to increase the flavor. Over all very good. This was baked inside a 9/13 pan containing an inch of water to keep the cake from cracking. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I cheated a bit and used two 9-inch pre-made graham cracker pie crusts and canned sweet potatoes. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla to the filling and cinnamon and nutmeg to the topping. (Not too much nutmeg, because it can be overpowering.) It came out very good....a nice change from plain cheesecake. The topping was excellent and really brought out the sweet potato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
The recipe was GREAT! My boyfriend is a chef and loves this recipe, we made it for Christmas desert for my parents this year and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States