Sweet Potato Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by judikay1962
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving this year (2011) and it was a HUGE hit!! I had run out of pecans, so had to substitute crushed walnuts, but it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judikay1962
Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anderson, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
While the cheesecake was very good, the sweet potato flavor was way too weak for me, and I put in the full 2 pounds. Next time, I will decrease cream cheese to 2 pkgs to hopefully get a stronger flavor. I also added 2 tsp cinnamon, a must need. The caramel topping is excellent, although it also does cover up the sweet potato flavor. I didn't bother leaving it in the oven for an hour after cooking. I cooked it like my favorite cheesecake recipe - I added 2 tbsp cornstarch to the sugar (mix so not lumpy) and cooked at 325 for 1 hour 10 minutes, then cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lea M.
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I am a cheesecake purist, I love the taste of plain cheesecake, so the feature picture shown for this sweet potato cheesecake is misleading. It shows what looks like a marbled type cheesecake the kind a purist like me would like, pure cheesecake with small swirls of sweet potato, not the full on blended kind like this recipe suggests. As I started to create my cake I realized that there was no way I was going to combine the delicious delicate flavor of cream cheese with the heavy, fleshy sweet potato. So what I did was strain the sweet potato through a strainer (kept the fleshy part for pie) and took the smooth sweet potato, added cinnamon, nutmeg, and white sugar, all to taste, and smoothed it at the bottom of the pan over the crust THEN I put the creamy layer of cream cheese over that (omitted the pecan topping concoction) baked it in a water bath and it came out PERFECT! The best of both worlds without mixing them up. My 4 star rating is for misleading picture and mixing sweet potato with creamcheese. But TOTALLY 5 stars for the cheesecake recipe itself!!! AND, taking a tip from another commenter, rather than using graham cracker crust, next time I will try a biscotti crust. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
my first REAL cheesecake (not a "no bake")... and this thing looked, smelled, and tasted beautiful. i'd make the topping to put on ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
spectacular - after eating at Gladys Knight's and trying her version, I had to make my own. LOVE Cutie Pie's moderations - thanks so much - this is a hit! And, it is even better than Gladys's (if that can be possible!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
This recipe is so wonderful! I made it last year for Thanksgiving and it was such a hit, my family has requested it again this year! I did make a couple changes, but they were small. I used crushed ginger snaps for the crust rather than graham cracker crumbs. For ease, I used jars of sweet potato baby food and added a little cinnamon, vanilla extract and ground ginger to the puree. Also, 15min before the cake was finished baking, I added a layer of sour cream and sugar mix to the top like a sort of frosting, then I swirled in caramel sauce so it had a marbled look. I placed the pecans around the edges and in the center decoratively and then finished baking. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Like other viewers, I added cinnamon and nutmeg to give more flavor. I also used cinnamon graham crackers for the pie crust. Absolutely love the glazed pecans! This is what makes the cheesecake and can be used to top off other pies, which I intend to do with just a plain sweet potato pie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I agree with the above reviews in that the recipe is good, but leaves it wide open for variation. Spicing it up is always a good idea. My selections were lemon zest, cinnamon, ground ginger (just a pinch). I would add nutmeg if I had any. I think ground cardamom would work nicely in the crust to make it extra festive. I should try that next time. And there will be next time, I am sure. Baked for about 55 minutes over a water filled roasting pan. No issues, no cracks. As for the topping, I had to improvise because this cake goes to a school Thanksgiving feast, and they forbid nuts of any kind. I used 2 packages of fresh cranberries, sugar, 1 lemon juice, cooked them all together, and added a bit of butter and cream in the end to make it look silkier and not like jam. Great post, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crainny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Delores
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I have made this twice and they came out great. I will be making this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Chef Kay
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I like this recipe, it is a large portion so i cut it in half and im Allergic to nut so thats why there is no pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Kay

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States