Sweet Potato Casserole with Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
We had to adjust the seasonings and add brown sugar to add flavor. It was just too bland without. We also added marshmallows the last 5 minutes for our traditional thanksgiving sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Sachse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I loved this dish. I put my sweet potatoes (5 large)through a ricer after being cooked to get a nice fine texture instead of using a blender or food processor. I also used fat free half and half and added some of the crumbled bacon in the mix. I thought the spices were spot on....not to spicy...just hinted and that complimented well with the smokey bacon (I used almost a full pound of bacon in total) which I also added to the top of the casserole. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Like others, I did this as a change from the sugary SPCs. Thanksgiving 2011, it was a hit with the family. I followed the recipe exactly. So, encore time for 2012 Thanksgiving. Thanks, Laurie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
you cant go wrong with bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MeggieSuzel
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a very nice casserole! We love the sweet, buttery regular SPC, but this is a refreshing change. I did add sauted onion and garlic (small onion and 1 clove). I folded it in after processing the rest of the ingredients together. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeggieSuzel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Very helpful ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very nice change from the too sweet, sweet potatoes. Easy to do. Even grandchildren like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Coventry, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I liked this so much... I cooked half an onion in my leftover bacon grease and combined it with the crumbled bacon to top... then I just added a couple tablespoons of the bacon grease and a little milk to get the right consistency since I didn't have time to bake so long. the onion-y bacon grease gave it a great flavor! I also only added the nutmeg since I didn't want to give it too many flavors... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I give this five stars mainly because I have a hard time finding sweet potato side dishes that don't taste more like a dessert. I persoanlly like them about any way you can prepare them, but my husband does not like all the sugar and nuts that many recipes add. How happy was he to see BACON as a topping instead! ;) I did not have light cream on hand, so I just combined some milk and meleted butter as a substitute and for the cream. I also used 6 sweet potatoes instead of 4. It turned out great. Thank you so much for giving us a sweet potato recipe that leans more toward the savory side. It was a nice new twist to my traditional Thanksgiving meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crankybug
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Didn't like, sorry. Needed more flavor. Maybe sauteed onions. My husband and son didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States