Sweet Potato Casserole VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This is a great recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving, our office Christmas party and will make it for our family Christmas dinner. I only use fresh sweet potatoes as I don't care for canned. Also, I don't like to boil potatoes (loses flavor) so what I do is wash about 4 sweet potatoes (leaving skins on), wrap them in aluminum foil and bake them in the oven at 450 degrees for about an hour or until soft. Let them cool, unwrap foil and then cut in half and the skins easily slip off. If you have the time, this is A LOT easier then peeling and cutting sweet potatoes to boil (don't know about you all, but sometimes trying to cut through a raw sweet potato is pretty difficult!!). Anyway, then I follow the recipe from there. Yum! I always get rave reviews. Thanks again for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
good! it is sweet but not overpowering. i used about 2 1/2 lbs sweet potatoes to get the 4 cups mashed. i made in 2 6 x 8 disposable pans and froze one after baking, without the topping. it reheated very well. also, i added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice for the added flavor. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I doubled this recipe and cut back a little on the sugar, as others mentioned, and it turned out perfectly. Also, as someone mentioned, 2.5 lbs. of sweet potatoes equals 4 cups mashed. I baked my sweet potatoes whole for about an hour, then scooped out the filling and mashed, topped and baked. The topping was delicious and I got many compliments. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I didn't make the topping, and I did cut back on the sugar in the casserole (I used 1/3 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar). This was EXCELLENT! Definitely the best sweet potato casserole I've ever had. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleBetty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
I made this for the first time, and brought it to work today. Everyone loved it. I'm glad I read the recommendations to reduce the sugar, because it would have been much too sweet otherwise. I made it with 8 cups of baked mashed yams instead of sweet potatoes, reduced the white sugar to 1/2 cup, used 1 stick of butter, and added cinnamon & nutmeg to taste. For the topping I reduced the brown sugar to 1 cup, and used 1 stick of butter. I made the yams last night, and kept them in the fridge, then this morning I covered them with the topping, and baked. All my co-workers asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
Delicious! I cut the sugar in both the potatoes and the topping in half because we don't like it to be so sweet. We loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This recipe was delicious and very easy to make. I did use about 1/2 of the amount of sugar it called for. I did add a little bit of cinnamon and nutmeg when I made the topping. Added a great flavor. Will add this to my recipe box for sure. My husband enjoy it and he is not a "casserole" person! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I've made this many times for many different people and it has always been a big hit at the holiday events. There have been times where I used canned sweet potatoes instead of fresh to save time. When I do this I omit the sugar from the potatoe portion of the recipe (the syrup in the can makes it sweet enough) and I strain the potatoes out of their syrup. Nobody could tell I used canned sweet potatoes and it was loved by everyone. I cut the topping portion in half (I always had extra left when I made a full batch) and put everything in a round casarole dish and that seems to be a good amount for a family event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This recipe is terrific! I had people that don't like sweet potatoes loving it. My husband said it was like a dessert. A must for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2000
The very best sweet potato cassarole I have ever ate!! even my picky husband loved it. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States