Sweet Potato Casserole VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was a delicious recipe and easy to make. My family loved it. Next time I make this I think I will use a little less sugar though. The pecan topping added a nice tasty crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This recipe was a hit-again! We love the sweet potato flavor enhanced with these comfort flavors :). I baked my potatoes beforehand, as recommended and I also used only 1/2 the ingredients for the topping. Made believers out of white-spud-only relatives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Great recipe! TIP: you can make the topping as instructed, or instead of melting the butter you can soften it a little and cut it into the flour/sugar/nut mix. This will make the topping "crumble". Melting the butter is good too, it is just harder to apply as topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
awesome. my 11 year old ate a whole bowl of the mashed potatoes for breakfast before i even got it completely assembled in the baking pan with the topping! since so many people said 1 cup sugar was too sweet, i used 1/3 cup white, 1/3 cup brown and 1/3 cup maple syrup. i also used evaporated milk instead of regular milk and only used 1 egg. for the topping i substituted 1/2 cup shredded coconut for the pecans and used 2/3 cup melted butter instead of 1/3 to make it more "crumblier." i put mini-marshmallows over the topping on half of it, since the kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We loved it, but I did reduce the sugar to 1/3 cup,also less butter and flour. Added a pinch of nutmeg and cinnamon too. Made only half the amount of topping but it was plenty. Remember, sweet potatoes are plenty sweet as is. This will be a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
My whole family just love these ,they fight over who gets the most topping, not too sweet for my gang! Has to be made every Easter, Thanksgiving, and Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEVERLY63

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boydton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I am pretty much in love with this recipe. (: I made a few changes, but only for my preferences (I'm trying to watch my waist line). I used 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/8 cup Truvia baking blend, 3 egg whites, skim milk, Light I can't Believe It's Not Butter. Also, I did without the topping. STILL AMAZING. I think if I were to do the topping I would do 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/8 cup Truvia, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, and Light ICBINB with the chopped pecans. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Holy cow, can you say SWEET? I halved the sugar called for in the sweet potato mix but it was still waaaayyyy too much for my taste. Even Husband, who is a huge SPC fan, said it was a little too much. Still plan on making this for Thanksgiving dinner but will use a third of a cup of sugar (half white, half brown.) Think I might also use half pecans, half walnuts for the topping. Giving it three stars instead of two as my 18 month old absolutely LOVED it, and he's going through a pretty picky stage at the moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I just fixed this recipe for my family and my father, who really isn't crazy about sweet potatoes, LOVED it! I also shared that I made this on Facebook and three people have already asked for the recipe. Plus, it's really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is actually a Southern dish called Senator Russell's Sweet Potato Casserole and is a winner every time I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States