Sweet Potato Casserole V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was pretty good. I used sweet potatoes & yams, very interesting! I Did miss the pineapple in my usual sweet potato casserole. I think I just added the marshmallows out of habit. A bit of ground nutmeg went in as well. I made the eggnog for it too!. Thank You Kelley, Yummy! Merry Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Suggest only making half the amount of topping for the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very good. I had some Land o Lakes Cinnamon Butter and I used that. It was a little too spicy so I might cut down a bit next time. I also halved the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Love the taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I meant to review this after I made them for Thanksgiving. EXCELLENT! I made exactly as stated (except the topping, I added a handful of finely chopped pecans) and even people who said the don't like sweet potatoes, gobbled these up. It has to be the eggnog. Or the sweet nutty topping. These were so very good, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
My family traditionally doesn't like sweet potato dishes at Thanksgiving. I love them. So, every year I try a new one to see if we can find a winner. I've been doing that for 20 years. Well, this one turned out to be the one. Everyone loved them and raved about them -- even those who usually hate sweet potatoes. The only thing I did differently is I doubled the recipe and used butter - not margarine. Also, I forgot to prepare the casserole dish. It didn't stick though. I made this the night before Thanksgiving and kept it in the fridge. I didn't add the crumble topping until I was ready to put it in the oven. It took a little longer to bake, obviously, because it was cold. I baked it for about an hour. But, I baked it along with another casserole, so if it was in there alone it would probably take less time. My family has requested that this recipe gets added to our permanent Thanksgiving roster. That's a big deal. Try this. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tavisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
extremely sweet even after reducing sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Delicious! To make the whole thing a little healthier I used skim milk instead of eggnog and egg substitute instead of egg whites. I also turned the broiler on at the very end of the baking time so that the topping browned. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was wonderful. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
sweet and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Mmmmmmmmmm!!!!! This recipe is sooooo good. I made it to go with our turkey dinner. I'm the only one in the family that will eat sweet potatoes, so I was thinking I was going to have the whole thing to myself. Well, that didn't work out so well, I was enjoying it so much, that everyone else had to try it, and the next thing I knew, all my supposed sweet potato haters had finished it all off! I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar mixed with the potatoes, and used the full amount on top. They were so sweet, that I think next time I might even reduce it a little more. I also used whole milk instead of the egg nog. The top is so awesome, I wouldn't change a thing, and couple minutes under the broiler makes it oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron Mountain, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make 5-star sweet potato casserole topped with toasted marshmallows.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States