Sweet Potato Casserole IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
I substituted mini marshmallows for the 1 cup of white sugar and soy milk for condensed milk. (lactose intolerant) I also added some nutmeg and cinnamon. It turned out pretty good and not overly sweet. The topping alone is sweet enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron G.
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
A very good recipe, much better than my old recipe, which was way too sweet for everyone. This is the first year I didn't have to throw out my sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Ballinger Januchowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Very good recipe. I didn't use quite as much butter as called for and it was still very good. Topping was great, very candy-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
oh my gosh good. way better than the ones that have the marshmallows
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
To save reading reviews: cut sugar in the potato mixture down. The sweet, rich topping is perfect. My tweak--boiling potatos in OJ and using it as the liquid (instead of milk). Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Best Sweet Potatoes I've ever had....easy recipe too! Everyone loved them!! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Great idea but too sweet. I don't care for sweet potatoes, but my guests gave me a love it/hate it response. Half loved it, half hated it. I'll keeping searching for one that gets thumbs up all the way around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is a really good dish. It pretty much tastes like candy. That also means you can't eat much of it. My 8 year old couldn't eat more than a couple of bites. I put in 1 more cup of sweet potato and a little less than 1 cup of sugar. If I make it again I will cut down the sugar in the sweet potatoes and the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I've tried several recipes each year, and this is the first recipe I've tried that I'll actually repeat again next year. It was so good.!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Oh My Goodness! This is a fabulous recipe. The only changes I made was canned sweet potatoes (yams) and 1/2 the sugar. My family & visiting family raved on & on about it. You will not be disappointed! I know canned potatoes is a major shortcut but I was stressing time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Webster, Indiana, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States